PEOPLE



Dr. Fred V. Grau has been awarded life membership in the Pennsylvania Roadside Council in recognition of his outstanding contribution to improving the scenic beauty of that state.

Dr. Grau, agronomist, turf authority, and president of Grasslyn, Inc., College Park, MD, discovered crownvetch by "taking the right forks in

the road" while taking a leisurely, scenic route to a

In 1970, it was estimated that more than 18,000 acres of Crownvetch had been planted along Pennsylvania rights-of-way since 1947, resulting in a savings to taxpayers of more than \$100,000 in mowing costs alone.

Ray McMicken, president of the B. Hayman Co., Santa Fe Springs, CA, has accepted a position on the Board of Directors of the Musser International Turfgrass Foundation, according to Dr. Fred V. Grau, president of MITF. McMicken fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Wayne Morgan, Kellogg Supply, Inc., Carson, CA.

McMicken has won the Top Volume award for his company four times, putting him at the top of all U.S. Jacobsen distributors. He has been active in many turf-oriented projects in Southern California and in Hawaii. Assistance to young turf students is a favorite endeavor.

"We are fortunate in having a man of Ray's caliber join us in our efforts to develope trained leaders for the future," said Dr. Grau.



David McLaughlin, chairman and chief executive office, The Toro Company, Minneapolis, has been elected to the Board of Directors of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States. His election to the 65-member policy setting group of the world's largest business federation was announced by Chamber Presi-

dent Richard L. Lesher.

McLaughlin joined the Toro Company in 1970 as president, assuming the additional role of chief executive officer three years later. Last year he was named chairman of the board.

McLaughlin is also chairman of the board of trustees of Dartmouth College and a board member of Dunwoody Institute; the Minneapolis Society of Fine Arts; National Alliance of Businessmen, and the Better Business Bureau. He serves as a member of the board of advisors of the Midwest Research Institute and on the Stanford Research Institute Council.



Drummond L. Kurtz has been named Vice President of Operations for E-Z-Go Textron. The promotion, effective immediately, was announced this week at Polaris E-Z-Go Textron's division headquarters in Minneapolis. In his new position, he has responsibility for all manufacturing operations at the division's golf car facility in Au-

gusta, GA.

Since joining E-Z-Go in 1974, Kurtz has acted as production control manager and manager of materials. Previously, he served in marketing and in similar production capacities at Vecta Educational Co., Kalamazoo, MI.

Dr. Sven-Ove Dahlsson, of Landskrona, Sweden, visited the turfgrass research project in the Department of Soil & Crop Sciences at Texas A&M University for a two-week period in June, 1978. Dr. Dahlsson is with the W. Weibull A. B. Seed Company and Weibullsholm Plant Breeding Institute where he is active in turfgrass research and education work.

The Southern Nurserymen's Association honored three individuals at their annual meeting during August in Atlanta, GA. Fred C. Galle, Director of Horticulture of Callaway Gardens, GA, was presented the "Porter Henegar Award for Horticultural Research". The award is given annually to the individual who, in the opinion of his fellow horticulturists, has made outstanding contributions to the nursery industry through research and has participated regularly in the association's Research Conference.

Louis Hillenmeyer, Jr., Hillenmeyer Nurseries, was honored with the Slater Wight Memorial Award, the SNA's highest award for service. The award was presented to Hillenmeyer in recognition of his active participation in association activities and his contributions to the success of the nursery industry in the southern region. He currently serves on the public relations advisory committee.

John C. Watkins, design consultant and advertising manage of Watkins Nurseries, was honored as the 1978 recipient of the David El Laird, Sr. Memorial Award. This award is given annually in memory of Richmond David E. Laird, Sr., to recognize the young member who has made outstanding contributions to his state and regional associations.

Other association business during the annual meeting included election of new President William J. Park, president of Geo. W. Park Seed Co., Greenwood, SC. Park is the 74th president of the association.