WT&T PEOPLE

The members of the National Arborist Association recently elected new officers at the annual meeting in Sarasota, Fla. Seated, from left to right, are: Larry Holkenborg, Sandusky, Ohio, 1st vicepresident; Kenneth B. Kirk, St. Louis, Mo., president; Bruce Walgren, Hartford, Conn., 2nd vice-president. Standing, from left to right are: Gerald Farrens, Jacksonville, Fla., immediate past-president; George Tyler, Amherst, N.H., director; Lee Lesh, Saratoga, Calif., director Earl Sinnamon, Denver, Colo., director; Erik Haupt, Sheffield, Mass., treasurer; Walter Money, Rockville, Md., secretary; and Neil Engledow, Indianapolis, Ind., director. Tyler, Sinnamon, and Lesh serve as directors with time remaining on their current terms of office.

The first NAA "Awards of Merit" were also presented at the meeting. Recipients included: **Dr. Paul Tilford**, Wooster, Ohio, NAA executive secretary from 1941-1966; **Ross Farrens**, Reno, Nev., charter member and past president of NAA; and **Edwin E. Irish**, Warren, Michigan, past president and chairman of the NAA Education Committee.

David Canavan took over new duties as president of the Golf Course Builders of America at the annual meeting in San Antonio. Canavan has an extensive background in the world of golf. He is currently president of Moore Golf, one of the country's largest golf course construction contractors operating throughout the nation. He has a degree in agronomy from the University of Massachusetts and is a registered landscape architect. Canavan is a past-president of the Greater Washington Golf Superintendents Association and a past director of the Mid-Atlantic Association. He succeeds Eugene Brown.

Other officers who took over new duties at the meeting include Harold E. Bishop, president elect; Carl Hedlund, secretary; and James J. Krichdorfer, treasurer. Both Hedlund and Kirchdorfer were re-elected.

Steve Gipson has been elected president of the Northern Ohio Golf Course Superintendents. He has been a member of both the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America and the northern Ohio chapter since 1968.



NAA Officers



Dr. Henry Indyk



David Canavan



Dr. Homer LeBaron

Dr. Henry W. Indyk, Cook College, Rutgers University, received the "Irrigation Man of the Year Award" at the Irrigation Association's recent conference in Cincinnati. The award is presented to university and government personnel who have made outstanding contributions toward the further acceptance of good irrigation practices. Indyk is the 21st individual to be honored since the inception of the award in 1952.

Indyk serves as Extension Specialist in Turfgrass Management at Rutgers and holds the title of full professor. He is responsible for all extension activities relating to turfgrass establishment and maintenance, as well as providing assistance in the diagnosis and solution of varied turfgrass problems. Proper soil moisture management constitutes an important area of emphasis in his work.

Dr. Homer M. LeBaron, senior scientist in environmental investigations for Ciba-Geigy Corp., has been elected a Fellow of the Weed Science Society of America. He was honored for his assistance and relationship with more than 100 graduate students, plus scientists from universities and government. He was also saluted for coordinating and distributing more than \$1 million in grants to university faculty and graduate students for weed control and other studies.

Dr. LeBaron is past president of the Northeastern Weed Science Society and is a member of the American Society of Agronomy and American Chemical Society. He received his B.S. and M.S. degrees from Utah State University and his Ph.D. from Cornell University.