

Three new vice presidents have been appointed at the Toro Co., Minneapolis. **Gary Richard Holland** has been named vice president-general manager of the new Outdoor Appliance Div. **Kenneth D. Larson** has been appointed vice presidentmanufacturing and engineering in the Outdoor Power Equipment Group. New vice president-marketing and sales in the Outdoor Power Equipment Group is **Robert J. Moeller.**

Barry L. Bartlett has been appointed vice president distribution at Massey-Ferguson Inc., North American Operations, Des Moines, Iowa. He succeeds **Murray A.** Thorndycraft, new president of Badger-Northland Inc., Kaukauna, Wis., a Massey-Ferguson subsidiary specializing in farmstead equipment.

John B. Arnaiz has been named manager of engineering by Willson Products Div., ESB Inc., Reading, Pa. He will have responsibility for research, development, design, and quality control of personal safety equipment manufactured by Willson.

Deppe Ag-Tec Ltd., Burlington, Ont. has appointed **J. V. Little** sales manager for the firm's outdoor power equipment markets in the U.S. and Canada.

Joe Tanouye, Redwood City, Calif., has been installed as the 27th president of the California Landscape Contractors Association at the group's recent annual meeting. He succeeds **Bill Kessloff**, Stanton, who has become chairman of the board.

New vice presidents elected at the meeting include Jim Keener, Newbury Park; Ken Gerlack, Martinez; Clifton Christmas, Compton; and Don Napolitano, Montebello. Bart Bartman, Huntington Beach, was elected treasurer, and Mickey Strauss, Van Nuys, was named secretary.

Jack A. Best has been named national field development manager for the Commercial Development Department, Agricultural Business Group, Velsicol Chemical Corp., Chicago. Formerly, he was regional manager in the same group.

New president of the Idaho Research Foundation is Dr. Robert R. Furgason,



John B. Arnaiz



Barry L. Bartlett



Jack A. Best



Dr. Larry S. Murphy

dean of the College of Engineering, University of Idaho (UI), Moscow, Idaho. **Dr. Raymond J. Miller**, associate dean, College of Agriculture and director, Agricultural Experiment Station, was elected vice president. **Robert N. Steele**, UI trust and investment officer, was reappointed secretary-treasurer.

Lawrence L. Carville has been retained as executive secretary by the Connecticut Nurserymen's Association and by the New England Nurserymen's Association. He runs Horticultural Associates, Tolland, Conn., and has been active in various regional professional associations. He succeeds **Charles Barr**, who will be retained by both groups on a consulting basis.

Dr. Larry S. Murphy has become western midwest director of the Potash/Phosphate Institute, Atlanta. He is professor of agronomy at Kansas State University and will direct cooperative programs with agriculture and industry in Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Colorado, and Wyoming.

New officers of the South Carolina Plant Food Educattion Society are **Jack Hartley**, Carolina Chemicals Inc., president, and **John Sitton Jr.**, Pendleton Oil Mill, vice president.

Directors for three-year terms are: Bruce Duncan, Royster Co.; Jim Gravitt, C. E. Gravitt Inc.; John Hill, Columbia Nitrogen Corp.; Jim McKelvey, BASF Wyandotte Corp.; Ed Murphy, IMC Corp.; and Bob Pearson, Swift Agri-Chemicals Corp.

Gary Bailey has been named national sales manager, Moody Sprinkler Co., Santa Ana, Calif. He has been with Moody for five years.

Paul L. Smeal, professor of horticulture at Virginia Polytechnic Institute, Blacksburg, Va., has been elected president of the American Society for Horticultural Science, Southern Region. He has served on the society's executive committee for six years.

James W. DiVall has received an honorary membership from the North Central Weed Control Conference. He is product development manager-midwest region, Stauffer Chemical Co., Omaha.