

"Education is learning what you didn't even know you didn't know." – Daniel J. Boorstin

## Supporting Sports Turf Managers... be they new or tried and true!

The Sports Turf Association is dedicated to the promotion of better, safer sports turf through innovation, education and professional programs. In order to further this goal and to encourage, support and provide leadership to those considering a career in the sports turf industry, the STA established a scholarship program in 1993 and has since awarded 30 scholarships.

The STA Scholarship was renamed the STA Robert W. Sheard Scholarship in 2007 in recognition of Dr. Sheard's immeasurable contribution and support provided to the association over two decades.

Visit the STA website for Scholarship Policies, Application Requirements, and the Application Form. Deadline for applications is May 1.



1st Annual Field Day, June 18, at Alumni Stadium, University of Guelph, Ontario.

Establishment of the STA Scholarship program.

Presentation of the first STA Scholarship to Lorelie Eckel-Braun, City of Kitchener, graduate of the University of Guelph Turf Managers' Short Course.

## CELEBRATING 25 YEARS



2012

Ross Baron, student in the University of Guelph

Diploma in Turfgrass Management Program,

recipient of the Robert W. Sheard Scholarship, the 30th such award. Sports Turf Association Scholarship Recipients 1994 – current

**University of Guelph Turf Managers' Short Course** Lorelie Eckel-Braun (1994) Tommy Joe Coffey, Jr. (1995) Gordon Noble (1995) Stuart Roberts (1996) Kim Nihls (1996) Robert Crump (1997) Derek Jazic (1997) Perry Davie (1998) Gordon Bruce (1998) Howie Kumagai (1999) Karen Richter (2000) John D'Ovidio (2001) John Peek (2002) Tennessee Propedo (2003) (No recipient in 2004) Jeff Fortune (2005)

University of Guelph
Ontario Diploma in Horticulture
Kevin McLeod (1997)
Duncan Graham (1998)
Brian Brown (1999)
Robert Gill (2000)
Gerald Rees (2001)
Craig Hinschberger (2002)
Glen Kralka (2003)
Randy McCord (2004)
John Marshall (2005)
Wayne Wong (2006)

Robert W. Sheard Scholarship lan Ferguson (2007) Timothy Armstrong (2008) (No recipient in 2009) Bradley H. Young (2010) (Robert) Guy Mackie (2011) (John) Ross Baron (2012)