2001 Scholarship Recipients

nce again a record number of excellent and worthy scholarship applications were received. Once again, a record number of scholarships were awarded through the generosity of those participating in the SAFE Foundation Silent Auction, Live Auction and Raffle, and through the designated funds of the Dr. Fred Grau memorial, and of The Toro Company on behalf of Dr. Jim Watson.



front row I to r: Lisa Lundberg, Tim Vanloo, William Casey Reynolds, Justin Peloquin, Michelle DaCosta, Marcus Dean back row I to r: Todd Rinehart, Don Frantz, Greg Elliott, Matthew McQuaid, James Newberry

This funding provides not only for the actual scholarship awards as noted below, but also up to \$500 each to be applied toward the travel and lodging costs for the STMA Annual Conference. STMA provides complimentary Conference registration for each Scholarship recipient.

With the establishment of the SAFE Foundation, and beginning with this 2001 Scholarship program, the scholarship program is administered through the Foundation, bringing tax benefits to those who make auction donations. Funds collected during

the 2002 STMA Conference in the SAFE Foundation Silent Auction, Live Auction and Raffle, and the designated Grau and Watson funding will continue to support the scholarship program.

The presentation of the following Scholarships took place during the STMA Awards Banquet held on January 18, 2002, in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Fred Grau - Two Year Program Scholarship - \$500 Greg Elliott - Michigan State University

SAFE - Two Year Program Scholarship - \$500 Matthew McQuaid - Michigan State University

Undergraduate - Four Year Program Dr. Jim Watson - \$1,000

Don Frantz - Colorado State University

SAFE Undergraduate - Four Year Program:
Undergrad: \$750
Tim Vanloo - Michigan State University

Tim Vanloo - Michigan State University
Marcus Dean - University of Kentucky
Justin Peloquin - University of Massachusetts
Todd Rinehart - Ohio State University

Graduate: Dr. Jim Watson - \$1,500

James Newberry - Colorado State University

SAFE Graduate - \$1,000 Lisa Lundberg - Michigan State University William Casey Reynolds - North Carolina State University

Michelle DaCosta - Rutgers University



STMA Board Meeting Reports

he STMA Board of Directors met in conjunction with the Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada. The first meeting took place on January 15, 2002, from 8 AM to 12:00 PM. The 2001 Board members reviewed Committee Reports, updates of the STMA Strategic Plan timelines, the preliminary end of year financial reports and conducted an overview of Conference details.

The STMA Annual Meeting took place on January 19, 2002, from 12:30 to 1:40 PM. Committee

Chairs presented status reports. Membership continues to grow and STMA remains financially sound. The membership voted to approve the SAFE Foundation Board of Directors. The 2002 Officers and Board Members were duly installed as previously elected by the STMA membership.

The STMA Board met at 4:30 to 5:30 PM on January 19 for a post-Conference review. The next Board Meeting will be held March 22-23, 2002, in San Antonio, Texas, site of the 2003 Conference.