## STMA 2001 ELECTION RESULTS (and then some)

The slate of nominees for STMA Officer and Board of Director positions, a ballot for the election, and the official announcement of the annual meeting were mailed to all national STMA members on December 21, 2000.

This mailing also included an enclosure containing the photos of all the nominees, and of the returning Officers and Directors, along with their background information and vision statements.

All ballots were to be received at STMA Headquarters by January 12, 2001.

Officer positions are for a one-year term. Up for election were the positions of: President Elect, Vice President Commercial, Secretary and Treasurer. According to the STMA Bylaws, the President Elect automatically moves to the position of President when the previous President's term has been completed. Also according to the STMA Bylaws, the President may be asked by the Board to serve a second one-year term. This request was made by the STMA Board, and President Rich Moffitt agreed to serve a second year as President in 2001. Other officers may run for a second one-year term. All officers serving in 2000 did decide to run for office again in 2001.

Category Board of Director positions up for election were: Category I, III and V. Board of Director positions are two-year terms. Directors may run for a second two-year term. Category I Director, Tom Burns, had completed his second two-year term. Category III Director, Dave Rulli, and Category V Director, Monty Montague, did run for a second term.

The results of the 2001 election were announced at the STMA Annual Meeting held on January 20, 2001, in Tampa, Florida. Those results are as follows: President Elect - L. Murray Cook; Vice President Commercial - Lynda Wightman; Secretary - Tim Moore; Treasurer - Bob Campbell; Category I Director - Mark Razum; Category III Director - Dave Rulli; and Category V Directory - Monty Montague.

Serving the second year of their two-year term in 2001 are the following: Category II Director - Mike Andresen; Category IV Director - Mike Trigg, and Category VIII Director - Dr. Tony Koski.

Serving their second one-year terms are President Rich Moffitt and Immediate Past President Stephen Guise.

## SAFE OFFICERS AND BOARD OF TRUSTEES ELECTED

The STMA Board of Directors officially elected the Board of Trustees of the Foundation for Safer Athletic Field Environments (SAFE) during the STMA Board Meeting held in Tampa, FL, on January 16, 2001. The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) corporation formed for the purposes as outlined in the SAFE Mission Statement: "To support sports field specific research, educational programs and environmental concerns to promote user safety."

The initial Board's length of service is staggered with one third of the Trustees serving a one-year, one third serving a two-year, and one third serving a three-year term. Subsequent Board positions will be three-year terms, establishing a twothirds annual continuity on the Board.

Serving a one-year term on the Board of Trustees are: Don St. Dennis, The Toro Company; Dr. Tony Koski, Colorado State University; and Dr. Jim Watson, retired. Serving two-year terms are: Bob Patt, City of Canton, OH; Mike Scaletta, John Deere; and Bob Campbell, University of Tennessee. Serving three-year terms are: Mike Schiller, Rolling Meadows (IL) Park District; Paul Pesci, Textron; and Monty Montague, Turfco Manufacturing/National Mower.

The SAFE Board met on January 16, 2001, in Tampa FL, to elect officers, establish committees and committee assignments, and to set goals. The Officers are: Chair - Mike Schiller, Vice-Chair - Monty Montague, Secretary - Bob Campbell, and Treasurer - Bob Patt. STMA Executive Director, Steve Trusty, automatically serves on the SAFE Board.

## MORE CERTIFIED SPORTS FIELD MANAGERS

Congratulations to the following individuals who have recently achieved Certified Sports Field Manager (CSFM) status: Lee Hauserman, Gay Guthrie, Connie Rudolph, C. Tom Rudberg, Mike McDonald, Troy Smith, Tim Moore and Mike Trigg.

## Southern Athletic Fields, Inc.

We Are Into

Red

SAF Coat is:

Affordable Great Percolation Non-Abrasive Superior Red Color

SAF Coat is a crushed, tempered shale stone that is light weight and easy to apply on skinned areas of infields.

1309 Mainsail Drive
Columbia, TN 38401
Email: saf@mulemix.com
Website:www.mulemix.com
931-380-0145 Fax

Call 1-800-837-8062 for More Information