## 73r<sup>d</sup> ANNUAL MICHIGAN TURFGRASS CONFERENCE VOLUME 32 JANUARY 20-23, 2003 HOLIDAY INN CONFERENCE CENTER LANSING, MI

## **Editors**

Kevin W. Frank and Ronald N. Calhoun

Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, Michigan State University

## Conference Planning Committee

Kevin Frank, Conference Coordinator

Doug Johanningsmeier, Conference Co-Chair

Jeff Holmes, Conference Co-Chair

Ronald Calhoun

Terry Poley

Amy Fouty

Greg Lyman

Tom Smith

Tim Doppel Suleiman Bughrara
Thomas Nikolai Jim VanAntwerp
Doug Buhler James Crum
David Gilstrap John Rogers, III
John Fulling David Smitley
Craig Hoffman Jeff Bryan
Karen O'Dell Joe Vargas, Jr.

## Michigan Turfgrass Foundation Board of Directors

Gerald Grossi, President
Spartan Services, Inc., Lansing
Kathleen Hilbert, Vice President
Rhino Seed, Brighton

Tom Smith, Past President & Asst. Exec. Dir. Tim Doppel, Treasurer

Grass Roots, East Lansing Atwood LawnCare, Sterling Heights

Gordon LaFontaine, Executive Secretary Steve Murphy

Pineview Highlands G.C., Houghton Lake Tyrone Hills G.C., Fenton

Paul Muelle, Recording Secretary Dan Boak

Huron Clinton Metro Parks, Brighton Lawn Tech, Grand Ledge

Jim VanAntwerp Rob Carson

John Deer Landscapes, Petoskey Birmingham Public Schools

Doug Johanningsmeier Gary Peters

Turfgrass, Inc., Howell The Highlands G.C., Grand Rapids

Jeff Holmes, CGCS Terry Poley,

Egypt Valley C.C., Ada Pine Lake C.C., Orchard Lake