

Winter 2007 / 08

Volume 78, Number 5

Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents Annual MAAGCS Meeting Minutes December 5, 2007 Manor Country Club Host: Randall Pinckney, President MAAGCS



Mr. Randall Pinckney, President called the MAAGCS Board of Directors meeting to order at 11:44 am.

The "George Barger Award" was presented to Mr. Tim Davisson and the "Mark Merrick Award" was given to Mr. Jason Wirtz.

The "Tom Ritter Award" was received by Mr. David Horton and the "Rhys Arthur Award was received by Mr. Richard Maranto.

The "Golfer of the Year Award" was won by current MAAGCS Education Chairman Mr. Scott Wunder

Mr. Mike Evans made a motion to dispose of the reading of the annual Officer's and Director's reports. This motion was seconded, and unanimously approved by MAAGCS members in attendance.

MAAGCS President Randall Pinckney presided over the elections for Officers Mr. Mark Kingora of Bethesda Country Club was nominated to be the new MAAGCS President. After offering, and not receiving any further nominations from the floor, Association members voted unanimously to approve the nomination. Mr. Bryan McFerren of Algonkian, and Brambleton Golf Courses was nominated to be the new MAAGCS Vice President. After offering, and not receiving any further nominations from the floor, Association members voted unanimously to approve the nomination. Mr. Scott Wunder of Piney Branch Golf Club was nominated to be the new MAAGCS Secretary Treasurer. After offering, and not receiving any further nominations from the floor, Association members voted unanimously to approve the nomination.

MAAGCS President Randall Pinckney presided over the elections for Directors:

There were 5 candidates that were nominated for 5 seats. A total of 3 candidates would be elected to serve 1 year terms, and the two candidates with the highest number of votes would be designated to serve two year terms.

The Nominated Candidates were as follows: Mr. Brett Post, Cross Creek Golf Club; Mr. Bryan Bupp, Bretton Woods Rec. Center; Mr. Jay Nalls, Norbeck Country Club, Mr. Jon Lobenstine, Falls Road Golf Course and Mr. Steve McCormick, Columbia Country Club.

(Continued on Page 4)

Inside Matters

President's Message	Page 2
Annual Championship	Page 3
Continuation of Annual Minutes	Page 4
Dr. Dernoeden Article	Page 5
News and Notes	Page 6
Continuation of Dr. Dernoden's Article	Page 7
Government Relations Report	Page 8
Eastern Shore Conference	Page 9
Supporters	Page 11