

Mid–Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents 2006 Annual Meeting Minutes

The Annual Election Meeting of the Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents was held on December 7, 2006 at Bethesda Country Club. President Tom Ritter, CGCS called the meeting to order at 11:05 a.m. President Ritter welcomed everyone, commented on the challenging, stressful, but rewarding year. He thanked all of the Board members for their contributions, he thanked all of the superintendents who hosted an event in 2006, he thanked the affiliates for their continued support and contribution, he thanked all Superintendents and Assistants for their attendance throughout the year and a special thanks to MAAGCS Executive Secretary Theresa Baria for her excellent work and support of the association.

Golf Committee Chairman, Bill Augustin, presented Mark Kingora with the 2006 MAAGCS Player of the Year Award.

A motion was made by Walter Montross, CGCS, MG, to dispense with the reading of the 2005 Annual Meeting Minutes. The motion was seconded by Quent Baria and passed by unanimous decision.

Education Chairman, Bryan McFerren, presented a MAAGCS scholarship to William Soles, who is currently enrolled at the Pennsylvania State University and employed at Eagle's Landing Golf Course.

A motion was made by Walter Montross, CGCS, MG, to dispense with the reading of Officer and Director Annual Reports. The motion was seconded by Bill Neus, CGCS, and passed by unanimous decision.

President Ritter described the proposed bylaw changes that would replicate the definitions of members as stated in the bylaws of the GCSAA. Class B Memberships were changed to Class SM. A definition of a golf course superintendent was added as follows, "A golf course superintendent is one who is entrusted with the management and operation of the tract of land defined as a golf course, including involvement in construction and maintenance of golf courses and related equipment".

Election results were presented by Past President, Drew Scully, CGCS. His nominating Committee consisted of Bill Neus and Steve Evans. The newly elected 2007 MAAGCS Board of Directors:

Officers

President, Randall Pinckney, Manor Country Club Vice President, Mark Kingora, Bethesda Country Club Secretary/Treasurer, Bryan McFerren,NOVA Regional Park Authority

Directors

Bill Augustin, Country Club of Maryland (1-year term) Mike Augustin, Belle Haven Country Club (1-year term) Quent Baria, Towson Golf & Country Club Jay Nalls, Norbeck Country Club (1-year term) Scott Wunder, Piney Branch Golf & Country Club (2-year term)

President Ritter presented a plaque to Past President Drew Scully for his years of MAAGCS service.

Kevin Smith, Davisson Golf, won the 50/50.

The gavel was passed from Tom Ritter, CGCS, to the new President Randall Pinckney. Randall reflected upon his past years of service and gave an overview of the year to come. President Pinckney adjourned the meeting at 11:41 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Secretary/Treasurer, Vice President Mark Kingora

Inside Matters

Annual Minutes	Page 1
Presidents Message	Page 2
Past President's Report	Page 3
Golf Report	Page 4
News & Notes	Page 4
Chapter Delegates Meeting	Page 5
2007 Schedule	Page 6
Bullets from the Board Room	Page 6
The Other Side Of The Coin	Page 7
Supporters	Page 11