

WINTER 2005 / 2006

Volume 76, Number 5

## Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents 2005 Annual Meeting Minutes

The Annual Election Meeting of the Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents was held on December 13, 2005 at The Woodlands/Diamond Ridge Golf Courses in Woodlawn, MD. President Drew Scully, CGCS called the meeting to order at 10:15 a.m. President Scully welcomed all attendees and thanked the 2005 Board of Directors and Executive Secretary Theresa Baria for their contributions.

Drew introduced guest speakers Rick Lanore and Dr. Peter Dernoeden. Mr. Lanore is the President of the Maryland Turfgrass Council and he reported on the status of the MD Turfgrass Survey that is underway. Dr. Dernoeden updated everyone on current research projects at the University of Maryland.

Drew described the proposed bylaw changes that would decrease the MAAGCS Board from 11 to 9 members and decrease the average term length for Directors. Past President Ken Ingram, CGCS, MG, Chairman of the Nominating Committee explained that a two-thirds majority of those voting members in attendance is required to implement a bylaws change. A show of hands vote was made and the bylaws changes were passed. Ken thanked nominating committee members Mike Larsen, CGCS and Walter Montross, CGCS, MG for their involvement.

Rich Sweeney, CGCS, Director of Golf Committee Chairman announced that Ed Gasper, (Timbers at Troy GC) was selected as the MAAGCS Player of the Year.

Jean Scott was elected to the Industrial Advisory Committee.

## A new Board was elected:

President Tom Ritter, CGCS, Hampshire Greens GC Vice President Randall Pinckney, Manor CC Secretary/Treasurer Mark Kingora, Bethesda CC

## Directors:

Bill Augustin, CC of Maryland Mike Augustin, Belle Haven CC Quent Baria, CGCS, Towson G & CC Bryan McFerren, University of MD GC Rich Sweeney, CGCS, Mount Vernon CC



The gavel was passed from Drew Scully, CGCS to new President Tom Ritter, CGCS. Drew presented outgoing Past President Ken Ingram, CGCS, MG with a plaque for his Board service. Tom thanked Drew for his leadership in 2005 and presented him with a plaque. Tom also presented plaques to outgoing IAC member Tom Walsh and outgoing Director of Government Relations Committee Chairman Dean Graves, CGCS.

President Ritter thanked the Board and Executive Secretary Theresa Baria for their efforts in 2005, described MAAGCS highlights for 2005 and outlined goals for 2006.

President Ritter adjourned the meeting at 11:55 a.m.

Inside Matters	
Annual Meeting Minutes	Page 1
President's Message	Page 2
Schedule	Page 4
Research Report	Page 5
Supporters	Page 7
Bullets from the Boardroom	Page 8
News & Notes	Page 8