2001 Annual Meeting Minutes

The annual meeting of the Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents was held December 11, 2001, at the Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center. President, Chris Ayers, CGCS, called the meeting to order at 7:30 PM.

President Ayers welcomed the members and guests. Mr. Ayers then thanked the membership for the privilege and honor of serving as President of the Association. He also thanked the Board Members for all their efforts and service this past year.

President Ayers acknowledged and awarded Past President, Nick Vance, CGCS, for his years of dedicated service. Mr. Ayers then awarded Paul Masimore, CGCS, for his one term as newsletter chairman and Dave Burkhart for his years served on the board.

Past President, Nick Vance, CGCS, thanked the IAC (Industrial Advisory Committee) for their input and support this past year. He then honored Harry Fridley and Dave Cammarota for their service on the IAC.

President Ayers, called on Education Director, Ken Ingram, CGCS, who announced that six MAAGCS scholarships were to be awarded. Ken Ingram then presented the John T. Lea Merit Scholarship to McMahon Connor. Daniel De Giovine received the T.A. Turner Award and Tom Harper received the Secton Anderson Award. Joseph Gulotti, Tim Weis and Keith Williams were also awarded MAAGCS scholarships.

Golf Chairman, Dave Burkhart awarded the "Player of the Year" trophy to Rick Wakefield, CGCS, who was unable to attend.

President Ayers called on Secretary Jim Halley to read the 2000 annual minutes. A motion was made on the floor by Bob Collins, CGCS to suspend the reading of the minutes. The motion was seconded by Bernie Beavan, CGCS, and made unanimous by the voting members present.

President Ayers called on the Treasurer, Tim Norris, CGCS, to present the Annual Treasurer's report.

President Ayers then called on the remaining Board Members to present their annual reports. Bill Shirk, CGCS made a motion, to exclude the presentations of the Board's Annual Reports. The motion was seconded by Scott Wagner and made unanimous by the voting members present. Mr. Ayers informed the members that all reports will be published in the newsletter.

President Ayers, relinquished the podium to the chairman of the nominating committee, Nick Vance, CGCS. Mr. Vance then presented the following slate of officers for 2001.



President Vice President Secretary Treasurer Michael Evans Tim Norris, CGCS Jim Halley Ken Ingram, CGCS

No nominations were made from the floor; all of the officers were elected by the acclamation. Mr. Vance then introduced the following nominees for Director:

Tom Ritter, CGCS Rick Wakefield, CGCS Charles Poole

Richard Sweeney

A call was made for nominations from the floor. No nominations were made and each candidate in attendance then made a nominating speech on his own behalf.

The votes were calculated and Mr. Vance announced that from the distinguished group of candidates, Charles Poole and Tom Ritter, CGCS were elected to serve three-year terms and Rich Sweeney was elected to serve a one-year term.

A motion to destroy the ballots was then made by Walter Montross, CGCS, MG. The motion was seconded by Scott Wagner and made unanimous by the voting members present.

Mr. Ayers than passed the gravel to President Mike Evans. At this time, President Evans presented a plaque to Mr. Ayers for his years of dedicated service. Mr. Evans then welcomed the newly elected board members and outlined his goals and priorities for this coming year.

> Respectfully submitted, Jim Halley, Secretary

Simplot

Our New Turf Seed Is Perfect Right Here

Contact Simplot Partners:

Mike DelBiondo: (717) 764-2707 Mark Bujac: (301) 464-5993

2002 J.R. Simplot Company

www.simplotpartners.com