Winter 2002

Volume 73, Number 4

MAAGCS Annual Meeting 2002



Front Row (1 to r): John Stevens, CGCS, Mark Kingora, Ken Ingram, CGCS, James Halley, Drew Scully, CGCS Back Row (1 to r): Tom Ritter, CGCS, Dean Graves, Randall Pinckney, John Newcomb, CGCS, Michael Evans, Charles Poole

The Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents elected the Officers and Board of Directors that will lead the association in the year 2003 on Tuesday, December 12, 2002. The annual membership meeting was held at the Greenbelt Marriott in Greenbelt, Maryland.

The MAAGCS membership first voted in a bylaw change that changed the percentage of dues income dedicated to the Education and Social & Benevolence Funds. Following the bylaw vote, Past President, Chris Ayers, CGCS, presented the slate of candidates for officers. Mr. Halley Golf Course Superintendent from Glenn Dale Golf Club was elected President, Mr. Ken Ingram, CGCS, Golf Course Superintendent at Bretton Woods Recreation Center, was elected Vice-President, Mr. Andrew Scully, CGCS, Director of Golf Operations for the Baltimore Co. Revenue Authority was elected Secretary, and Mr. John Newcomb, CGCS from Cross Creek Golf Club was elected to a term as the Treasurer. The new members of the Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents Board of Directors are Mark Kingora, Golf Course Superintendent at Bethesda Country Club, Randall Pinckney, Golf Course Superintendent at Piney Branch Golf & CC and John Stevens, CGCS, Golf Course Superintendent at The Country Club at Swan Creek. Dean Graves of Chevy Chase Club was reelected to another term. These gentlemen were elected from a slate of five strong candidates.

Education Chairman, Tom Ritter, CGCS, announced the MAAGCS scholarships awarded to five deserving students. Michael Bostonian, was awarded the John T. Lea Merit Scholarship. MAAGCS Scholarships were awarded to Thomas Harper, Nicholas Mooneyhan, and Roger Moore. All of the 2002 scholarship recipients attended the Institute of Applied Agriculture at the University of Maryland.

Mr. Charles Poole, who served as Golf Chairman in 2002 announced that the Golfer of the Year was Mr. Joe Herkalo of CJH Greens, Inc.

President Michael Evans thanked Chris Ayers, CGCS, Immediate Past President, for the leadership and direction he has provided during his years on the MAAGCS Board of Directors.

After the election, Mr. Evans turned the gavel over to newly elected President Halley. Mr. Evans presented Past President Avers with a plaque and gavel as appreciation for his tenure as President. President Halley highlighted several events that will be taking place in the year 2003, then thanked the membership for their attendance and wished everyone safe travels home.

Inside Matters

| Past President's Message | 2 |
|-------------------------------|---|
| President's Message | 3 |
| 2001 Annual Meeting Minutes | 4 |
| 2002 Annual Committee Reports | 5 |