

Winter 2000/2001

Volume 71, Number 5

Annual Meeting Held in Columbia, MD



Front Row(l to r): James Halley, Tim Norris, CGCS, Nick Vance, CGCS, Chris Ayers, CGCS, Ken Ingram, CGCS, Andrew Scully, CGCS Back Row (l to r): Paul Masimore, CGCS, Michael Evans, David Burkhart, John Newcomb, CGCS, Dean Graves

The Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents elected the Officers and Board of Directors that will lead the association in the year 2001 on Tuesday, December 12, 2000. The annual membership meeting was held at The Sheraton Columbia Hotel in Columbia, MD.

The MAAGCS membership first voted in a bylaw change that eliminated the need to ask the non-voting members to leave prior to elections. Following the bylaw vote, Past President, Walter Montross, CGCS, presented the slate of candidates for officers. Mr. Chris Ayers, CGCS from Lakewood Country Club was elected President, Mr. Mike Evans, Golf Course Superintendent at The Country Club of Woodmore, was elected Vice-President, Mr. James Halley, Golf Course Superintendent at Glenn Dale Country Club was elected Secretary, and Mr. Tim Norris, CGCS from Army Navy Country Club in Fairfax was elected to a second term as the Treasurer. The new members of the Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents Board of Directors are Mr. Drew Scully, CGCS, Golf Course Superintendent at Greystone Golf Club, and Mr. Paul Masimore, CGCS, Golf Course Superintendent at Marlton Golf Club. Mr. John Newcomb, CGCS, from South River Golf Links was re-elected to the Board. These gentlemen were elected from a slate of six strong candidates.

Education Chairman, James Halley, announed the MAAGCS scholarships awarded to five deserving students. Ian Kelly, a senior at Virginia Tech, was awarded the John T. Lea Merit Scholarship. Herb Lea presented a plaque honoring his father, John T. Lea, to Mr. Kelly. The T. A. Turner Scholarship was awarded to Toby Kiggins, a Penn State student. Daniel and Mathew Neus, who attend the Institute of Applied Agriculture at the University of Maryland, and McMahon Connor, a Penn State student were also presented MAAGCS 2000 scholarships.

Mr. Dave Burkhart who served as Golf Chairman in 2000 announced that the Golfer of the Year was Mr. Rick Wakefield, CGCS, Golf Course Superintendent at The International Town & Country Club.

President Nick Vance, CGCS thanked Walter Montross, CGCS, Immediate Past President, for the leadership and direction he has provided during his years on the MAAGCS Board of Directors.

After the election, Mr. Vance turned the gavel over to newly elected President Ayers. Mr. Ayers presented Past President Vance with a plaque and gavel as appreciation for his tenure as President. President Ayers highlighted several events that will be taking place in the year 2001, then thanked the membership for their attendance and wished everyone safe travels home.

Inside Matters	
President's Message	2
Past President's Message	2
Editor's Letter	3
Bullets from the Board	3
Annual Committee Reports	4