## TURFGRASS MATTERS

December 1999

Volume 71, Number 5

## The Suburban Club Hosts the MAAGCS Annual Meeting



Front: (1 to r) Jim Halley, Ken Ingram, CGCS, Nick Vance, CGCS, Tim Norris, CGCS, Chris Ayers, CGCS

Back: (1 to r) Dean Graves, Dave Burkhart, Walter Montross, CGCS, John Newcomb, CGCS, Mike Evans, Dave Nehila

The Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents elected the Officers and Board of Directors that will take the association into the next century on Tuesday, December 14, 1999. The annual membership meeting was held at The Suburban Club in Baltimore, MD and hosted by John Kotoski, CGCS.

The MAAGCS membership first voted in a bylaw change that eliminates the Class G membership. This change was needed to bring the MAAGCS membership classifications in compliance with the GCSAA Affiliated Chapter Dual Membership Agreement. Following the bylaw vote, Past President Mike Gilmore, presented the slate of candidates for officers. Mr. Nick Vance, CGCS from Rattlewood Golf Course was elected President, Mr. Chris Ayers, CGCS from Lakewood Country Club was elected Vice-President, Mr. Mike Evans, Golf Course Superintendent at The Country Club of Woodmore, was elected to a second term as Secretary and Mr. Tim Norris, CGCS from Army Navy Country Club in Fairfax was elected to the position of Treasurer. The new members of the Mid Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents Board of Directors are Mr. Dean Graves, Golf Course Superintendent at Bethesda Country Club, Mr. Ken Ingram, CGCS, Golf Course Superintendent at Bretton Woods Recreation Center, and Mr. Dave Nehila, Golf Course Superintendent at Hunt Valley Golf Club. These gentlemen were elected from a slate of seven strong candidates.

Earlier in the evening outgoing Education Chairman, Ryland Chapman, IV, presented MAAGCS scholarships to four deserving students. Jason Bowers and Steve Evans were both awarded a Merit Scholarship. Brian Moreau and Jeff Van Fleet were also presented MAAGCS scholarships.

Mr. John Kotoski, CGCS, who served as Golf Chairman in 1999, presented the "Player of the Year" award to Mr. Mike Evans, Golf Course Superintendent at The Country Club of Woodmore.

President Walter Montross, CGCS presented Mr. Ryland Chapman, IV, from Fairway Hills Golf Club, with a plaque and thanked him for his service on the Board of Directors over the past three years. Mr. Chapman will be stepping down from the Board this year. Mr. Montross also thanked Mr. Mike Gilmore, Immediate Past President, for the leadership and direction he has provided during his seven years on the MAAGCS Board of Directors.

After the election, Mr. Montross turned the gavel over to newly elected President Vance. President Vance presented Past President Montross with a plaque and gavel as appreciation for his tenure as President. Mr. Vance then thanked the membership for their attendance and wished everyone safe travels home.

Inside Matters	
President's Message	2
Boardroom Bullets	3
Editor's Letter	4
Annual Committee Reports	5
Don't Sweat	6
Golf News	9
Upcoming Events	9

News & Notes

10