

## November/December 1998

Volume 70, Number 5

## Montross Named MAAGCS President for 1999

The Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents cast their votes for Walter Montross, CGCS as the 1999 President at their annual meeting held December 8, 1998 at Turf Valley Resort and Conference Center. Mr. Montross is the superintendent at Westwood Country Club in Vienna, Virginia. Other officers elected were Mr. Nick Vance, CGCS from Rattlewood Golf Course for Vice President, Mr. Mike Evans from Country Club at Woodmore was elected to fill the position of Secretary and Mr. Chris Ayers, CGCS, superintendent at Lakewood Country Club, will remain as Treasurer for a second term.

Three directors were also chosen by the MAAGCS membership. Mr. Jim Halley from Glendale Country Club and Mr. John Newcomb, CGCS from South River Golf Links will be joining the Board of Directors for the first time. Mr. Dave Burkhart, superintendent at Hog Neck Golf Course, will be returning to the Board to fill a three-year term. The new members will be joining current Board members Ryland O. Chapman, IV from Fairway Hills Golf Course, Michael Legere, CGCS superintendent at Holly Hills Country Club, and Tim R. Norris, CGCS from Army Navy Country Club-Fairfax. Past President Mike Gilmore will fill the final position on the

## MAAGCS Board.

President Montross presented Past President Mike Gilmore with a gavel and plaque to recognize his many years of unselfish service to the MAAGCS Board of Directors. After the presentation President Montross expressed his desire to continue the positive direction MAAGCS has embarked upon during the past two years.

The new committee chairmen will be appointed at the January Board of Directors meeting. Please do not hesitate to serve when one of the Directors calls on you. MAAGCS will only be as good as the effort its members put into the association.



**1999 MAAGCS Board of Directors** 

Front Row: Michael Evans, Charlotte Norris, Tim R. Norris, CGCS, Chris Ayers, CGCS, Nick Vance, CGCS, John A. Newcomb, CGCS. Back Row: Ryland O. Chapman, IV, Michael Legere, CGCS, Walter Montross, CGCS, Mike Gilmore, Dave Burkhart Not Pictured: Jim Halley

Published by the Mid-Atlantic Association of Golf Course Superintendents

