MAAGCS Golf Notes

The Annual Championship was held October 13, at Mount Vernon Country Club. Jeff Michel, CGCS, assistant Phil Davidson and the rest of the staff did a wonderful job with the golf course in spite of the drought-stricken, grub-infested, gray leaf spot-ravaged conditions that were the summer of '98. Thanks, Jeff!

Indicative of the extreme stress conditions, participation in this year's Championship was down considerably from the benchmark set last year. We had 48 players compete at Mount Vernon. In addition to the trophies for the Low gross and net winners in the superintendent flight, the Board of Directors last fall decided to present named trophies for the winners of the affiliate flight beginning with the 1998 Championship. The low gross award was named in honor of Michael Graebner and the low net award in honor of Carroll Davis. The superintendent low gross and net awards were named in honor of Steve Hricko and Angelo Cammarota, respectively.

The 1998 Annual Championship winners were:

Superintendent Flight

Gross	Net
Steve Hricko Award	Angelo Cammarota Award
1st - Scott Wagner (75)	1st - Corey Haney (68)
2nd - Bill Shirk (79)	2nd - Sean Remington (70)
3rd - Phil Davidson (80)	3rd - Walter Montross (71)
4th - Keith Williams (81)	4th - Jeff Facto (72)
5th - Tim Norris (82)	5th - Bob Wren (72)
A	Affiliate Flight
Gross	Net
Michael Grabener Award	Carroll Davis Award
1st - Paul Tideman (79)	1st - Tom Wojcik (72)
	2nd - Larry Cosh (75)
Clo	sest to the Hole
#2 - Scott Wagner (6'4")	#6 - Paul Tideman (2'6")
#11 - Dave Nehila (4'6")	#16 - Tom Wojcik (4'6")
Closest to the Line	Long Drive

#18 - Tim Sage

Unfortunately, this year's Annual Championship was held the same day as the MET Tournament at the Country Club of Connecticut. For those who are unfamiliar with the MET tournament, it features a gross and net team, comprised of four players each, from Superintendent Associations throughout the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic. Hopefully, there will not be a conflict next year. If you are interested in playing in the 1999 MET Tournament, please contact the MAAGCS golf chairman.

#4 - Paul Tideman

Our last tournament of the year was November 10, at Lakewood Country Club. Among the 82 golfers were 13 students from the University of Maryland's Institute of Applied Agriculture. The event was a scramble with teams being comprised of an affiliate member, a student or assistant superintendent, and one or two superintendents. This integrated scramble format generated many favorable comments from those who played.

Kudos to Chris Ayers, CGCS, assistant Kevin Smith, and their entire staff for a superbly conditioned golf course. It was a real treat, Chris!

The day's winners were:

1st - (63) Jim McHenry, Bill Springirth, Tom Dale

2nd - (65) Lee Carroll, Dave Rudinski, Dave Shannon, Nancy Inscoe

3rd - (66) Steve Evans, Ken Ingram, Ed Gasper, Ron Thomsen

4th - (66) Jeff Miskin, Jim Rugg, Paul Masimore, Bryan Bupp

5th - (66) Tom Clark, Matt Fauereach, Rick de Holanda

Closest to the Hole

#2 - Tim Norris, #9 - John Newcomb, #12 - Jim Weaver, #17 - Steve Evans

Closest to the Line

Long Drive

#8 - Keith Williams

#13 - Mike Perry

In other tournament action this fall, Scott Reeside and Worthington Manor hosted the John Deere Regional Championship, southern region, September 23. The team of Keith Hershberger, Bob Fretwell, Bill Shea, and John Newcomb from Old South Country Club won a "chip-off" to best the thirty one (31) other teams and earn a trip to the John Deere National Tournament in Arizona.

This year's Maryland Turfgrass Council Tournament, the Angie Cammarota Memorial, was played October 20, at the Timbers of Troy. Superintendent Scott Roche hosted seventy-eight (78) golfers, and tournament director Ryland Chapman reported more than \$5,100 was raised for turfgrass research. The winning team was Jim Halley, John Shields, Bernie Farrell and Gary Hottle with a score of 123.

Lastly, the 1998 Challenge Cup was held November 18 at Cove Creek. Four chapters competed in this year's event with the Philadelphia Chapter taking home the cup for the second straight year. Tournament organizer and host Tim Sage, reported raising \$800 for the GCSAA Endowment Fund from the event.

The last golf item for 1998 is the naming of the MAAGCS Player of the Year. This year's winner is Steve Cohoon, CGCS. Steve had a first, a second, and two third place finishes this year to amass a total of 200 points Steve's closest pursuer, Glenn Smickley, CGCS, had 170 points, followed by Jeff Michel, CGCS, with 140. Congratulations, Steve!

In closing, Walter Montross, CGCS, has put together a tremendous schedule of meeting sites for 1999, Come on out and be a part of what promises to be the best MAAGCS golf season ever.