MAAGCS Board of Directors President, Ken Ingram

301-951-5060 Past President, Nick Vance 301-977-6636 Vice President, Steve Potter 301-486-8280 Secretary, Lou Rudinski 301-222-7923 Treasurer, Scott Wagner 301-598-1580 Education, Dean Graves 301-365-0100 Golf, Bill Shirk 410-827-7518 Social/Benevolence, Mark Merrick 301-377-9204 Membership, Mike Gilmore 410-929-1707 Communications, Rhys Arthur 301-871-0365 Finance, Mitch Williams 301-929-1707

MAAGCS Newsletter © 1991 MAAGCS Editors: Betty C. Ford, 301-384-9666; fax: 301-384-4683; Marilyn Dorfman, 410-730-5877 Advertising: Rhys Arthur 301-871-0365 Published 10 times a year. Submissions welcome. Send information and articles to MAAGCS, 12704 Rigdale Terrace, Silver Spring, MD 20904.

## **NEW MEMBERS**

At the February Board meeting the following applications for membership were approved.

Michael Augustin Indian Spring CC; Class C Corey Haney Congressional CC; Class C Paul Kraut Bonnie View CC; Class B William L. Sapp, III Chartwell Golf & CC; Class D

## PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

I sincerely appreciate the opportunity you have given me to take the helm of this association I love. I'm



equally proud of the Board elected with me. It's a strong team already working hard to serve you. Each director's responsibilities are listed in this issue along with their picture and phone numbers. Don't hesitate to call one of us with your questions or problems. On the other hand, if you feel you can be of service to one of the Directors, volunteer to serve on his committee.

The conferences are over and we are at the end of another Maryland non-winter. Perhaps we didn't get the break we needed but you can't help but enjoy early spring on the golf course. I'll see you at Northwest Park and Manor on March 10 and we'll spread the spring-fever with 100 other folks who enjoy what we do for a living.

Ken Ingram CGCS President, MAAGCS

## **GOLF NOTES**

Twelve members of the association participated in the GCSAA Golf Championship in Jacksonville, FL, February 10-11. The tournament was played over the TPC Sawgrass Stadium and Valley courses, Oakbridge CC, and Sawgrass CC. The golf courses were fantastic but the golf and weather left something to be desired.

Three members came away with prizes. Non-resident member Joel Ratcliff won the 2nd Flight Net prize and Gordon Caldwell placed fourth. In the 1st Flight, Bill Shirk won 4th Place Gross Prize.

## **RHYS'S PIECES**

Due to the request of many members, the **Bits & Pieces** section is back. The column is designed to keep you informed of happenings that are important to the members of MAAGCS. Items we would like to include are job re-routings, business news, benevolence, or just any good gossip. If you have any good news that you think the membership would like to hear about, please submit by the 15 of the month to :

> Rhys Arthur C/O Rhys's Pieces P.O. Box 6920 Silver Spring, MD 20916

President Kenny Ingram is now at Port America G&CC. His new number is 301-292-2623. Kevin Pryseski, formerly of Sparrows Point, is now at Cattail Creek.

Kenny Braun, formerly at Bonnie View, is now a partner in Iso-lite. Dave Anderson, formerly with the TPC group, is now at Evergreen CC.

Paul Kraut from Central Pennsylvania, is now at Bonnie View. Please welcome Paul as a new member to MAAGCS.

Doug Petersan, formerly at Prairie Dunes CC, is the new superintendent at Baltimore CC. Please welcome Doug as a new member of MAAGCS.

Ed Gasper, formerly at Leesburg West Park GC is now at Springfield CC.

Barton Bullock, formerly the Assistant at Washington Golf, is now the new Superintendent at Leesburg West Park GC. Merrill Frank is now at Columbia CC.

And of course, Lee Dieter is still at Washington Golf.

Patty and Bill Brown (of G.L. Cornell) welcomed Megan Firestone Brown on October 28. Congratulations!