Ruhoff, Meyer, Ramler and Notch Win 2008 Scholarship Scramble at Somerset Country Club

Host Superintendent James Bade welcomed the Minnesota Golf Course Superintendents' Association to Somerset Country Club on June 23. Sunny skies greeted the 119 players. James and his staff presented the course in pristine con-

The team of Jason Ruhoff, Jeff Meyer, both of Koronis Hills, Tom Ramler, Boulder Ridge, and Tom Notch, Bent Creek, won the 2008 MGCSA Scholarship Scramble with a score of 56. The team eagled the Par 5 second hole, their last hole of the day, to capture the Championship.

A scorecard playoff was needed to decide second and third. Three teams finished with a score of 57. Two teams eagled No. 2 to force Team Windsong, consisting of Scottie Hines, CGCS, Bill Thompson, Rick Winship and Craig Hallet into fourth place. Finishing in second place was the Midland Hills team of Ben Just, Grant Blumreich, Mike Paape and Kyle Peterson. The scorecard playoff went five extra holes. The New Richmond squad of Tom Johnson, Chip Norman, Ross Johnson and Scott Cole took third place honors.

The two Long Drive winners were Mike Paape and Jason Swanson, Hidden Greens Golf Club. Rick Winship sank the longest putt of the day. The four closestto-pin winners were David DeVetter, Mystic Lake; Dale Parske, Reinders; Rick Peterson, White Bear Yacht Club, and Dick



2008 MGCSA SCHOLARSHIP SCRAMBLE WINNERS From left: Tom Ramler, Jeff Meyer, Jason Ruhoff and Tom Notch. They shot 56 to win by one.

Rieg, Prestwick Golf Club.

Thank you to Somerset general manager Sara Shaughnessy, golf pro Dave DuSchane along with their staffs for helping make this year's MGCSA Scholarship fund raiser a tremendous success.

The MGCSA also thanks the following Affiliate member companies for their financial support in sponsoring the event and other MGCSA events held throughout the year. These companies are: Agrotain International, BASF Corporation, Dow AgroSciences, Duininck Bros, Inc., Green Image, Hartman Companies, Hydrologic, MTI Distributing, Par Aide, Products Co., Plaisted Companies, Principal Financial Group, ProSource One, Syngenta Turf & Ornamental, Tessman Company, Tiziani Golf Car, Versatile Vehicles, Inc. and Yamaha Golf & Utility.

Versatile Vehicles, Inc. for suppling some some Women's U.S. Open tickets to some of the winners. Jim Wahl, Principal Financial, produced four nice framed pictures of the second green at Somerset Country Club for the championship team.

Thanks go out again to Gaby Accad, of the carts for the event along with giving



STANDING ON THE HIGHEST POINT OF RAMSEY COUNTY are Matt Schmid, Superior Turf Services, Lee Mahnke, Greystone GC, and Jeff Girard, Stoneridge GC.

(Results on Page 25)

MGCSA Scholarship Scramble Results

Somerset Country Club, Mendota Heights
June 23, 2008

Jason Ruhoff, Jeff Meyer, Tom Ramler, Tom Notch	56
Ben Just, Grant Blumriech, Mike Paape, Kyle Peterson	57
Tom Johnson, Chip Norman, Ross Johnson, Scott Cole	57
Scottie Hines, CGCS, Bill Thompson, Rick Winship, Craig Hallet	
Dave Kasmierczak, Jamie Bezanson, Jakob Kosac, Dick Rieg	
Tom Kasner, Terry Simon, Mike Kasner, Scott Milstroh	58
Barry Provo, Tim Kuebelbeck, Joe Green, David Newinski	59
James Bade, Josh Olson, Ben Walker, Jose Rocha	60
Bruce Leivermann, Wes Stoneback, Scott Thayer, Jeff Schmidt	60
John Steiner, CGCS, Kevin Anderson, Tim Olsen, Jamie Olson	60
Mike Knodel, Kyle Schaufler, Dustin Martin, Dale Schwecke	61
Dan Brown, Mike Hilliard, Scott Melling, Ryan Popp	61
Marlin Murphy, Ty Tollefson, Kevin Milbrandt, Jordan Weigelt	61
Jim Johnson, CGCS, Dave Johnson, Dan Stang, Tom Wodash	61
Wally Freier, Doug Daniel, Jim Temple, Geoff Jordan	61
Jim Kassera, Brent Doerhoefer, Tyler Olson, Larry Gorman	61
Walt Braunig, Paul Hanson, Greg Lentch, Tim Dickey	61
Brad Marty, Rick Peterson, Dan Pakko, Pat Battaglia	61
Matt Schmid, Jeff Girard, Lee Mahnke, Scott Turtinen	.62
Mike Brower, Troy Lang, Kyle Stern, Steve Gilles	63
Jerry Webb, CGCS, Bob Frank, Mike Redmond, Cary Femrite	. 63
Jason Swanson, Tom Mundy, Mike Aponas, Andrew Beske	64
David Oberle, Charlie Miller, Dennis Salwei, Chad Belland	. 64
Jeff Whitehurst, Kevin Huseth, Gaby Accad	. 65
Tom Proshek, Dale Parske, John Meyer, Paul Eckholm, CGCS	65
Paul Diegnau, CGCS, Brett Wenzel, Brian Horgan, Kevin Norby	65
Ted Schirck, Tom Bjornberg, Rick Traver, CGCS, Brad Zimmerman	66
Jim O'Neill, Pete Nolan, Andy Keyes, Dave DeVetter	
Ed Thomas, Matt Stephens, Bob Kautz, Robbie Holmes	67
Chad Snuggerud, Neil Vanwinkle, Joe Nilan, Larry Powers	71



Andrew Beske 2008 MGCSA Scholarship Award Recipient



DEFENDING CHAMPION David L. Johnson

Monday, September 8

MGCSA CHAMPIONSHIP

The Minikahda Club, Minneapolis
Host Superintendent: Jeff Johnson

ENTRY FORMS AVAILABLE AT WWW.MGCSA.ORG