## American Heroes Headline Dallas Conference and Show

The Alamo in San Antonio, the grassy knoll in Dallas, Houston's Johnson Space Center...Texas is the land of legendary places and heroic efforts. Join GCSAA in Dallas for the 2001 conference and show and get inspired by the tales of two modern American heroes.

The conference formally kicks off Wednesday, Feb. 14, with a presentation on leadership by H. Norman Schwarzkopf, retired U.S. Army general and commander of Operations Desert Shield and Desert Storm. Schwarzkopf coordinated the efforts of all allied forces from August 1990, soon after Iraq invaded Kuwait, until August 1991.

He has written a best-selling autobiography, "It Doesn't Take a Hero," and has appeared in several television specials. Now retired, he devotes much of his time to philanthropic efforts, including The Nature Conservancy and the STARBRIGHT Capital Campaign. Above all, Schwarzkopf is an experienced manager who understands people, motivation and leadership.

Thursday's Golf General Session will feature Capt. Scott

O'Grady, U.S. Air Force F-16 fighter pilot, who was shot down in 1995 while enforcing the NATO no-fly zone over Bosnia. The story of his six-day survival behind enemy lines is a tale of courage, faith and patriotism.

The autobiographical account of O'Grady's survival and rescue, "Return With Honor," spent six weeks on The New York Times best seller list. His courageous story has also been documented on the Discovery Channel presentation, "Behind Enemy Lines." In addition, O'Grady was featured on CNN's "Voices of the Millennium," a series that focused on the most influential personalities of each of the centuries in the millenium.

GCSAA's conference and show is also a time to recognize the heroes of the golf course industry. The Opening Session will include the presentations of GCSAA's Golf Championship trophy, Distinguished Service Award and Leo Feser Award. During the Golf General Session, GCSAA's highest honor -- the Old Tom Morris Award -will be presented. This session will also recognize the recipients of the Environmental Steward Awards.

