LIKE A SOLID BIRDIE PUTT Annual Conference Was 'Right on Target'

Like a straight uphill birdie putt that hits the hole squarely, the 65th annual MGCSA Conference and Business Meeting was right on target.

Except for the first day, attendance was basically the same as a year ago. In addition, attendees were treated to excellent programs and presentations, a variety of awards were presented, new officers were elected, Associate Members had excellent exhibits and there was plenty of time to socialize, renew friendships and make new ones during the November 18-20 session at the Northland Inn in Brooklyn Park.

This was the second year that the annual pesticide licensing session was not held at the annual conference. It now is conducted in March.

Opening day attendance of 262 was considerably smaller than the 317 mark in 1991. However, attendance climbed on Thursday when 414 were on hand, compared to 405 a year ago, while the total was 299 on Friday, compared with 319 in 1991. Banquet attendance this year was 165, compared with 201 a year ago.

New officers elected at the business session were:

Greg Hubbard, CGCS, Manitou Ridge Golf Course, White Bear Lake, president;

Joe Moris, Tartan Park Golf Course, Lake Elmo, vice-president; Jim Gardner, Rochester Golf & Country Club, Rochester, secretary.

Kevin Clunis, Stillwater Country Club, Stillwater, was reelected treasurer.

Rick Fredericksen, CGCS, Woodhill Country Club, Wayzata, continues on the board as an ex-officio member.

Elected directors were:

Cary Femrite, Pebble Creek Golf Course, Becker;

Richard Grundstrom, Indian Hills Golf Club, Stillwater; **John Harris**, Lafayette Club, Minnetonka Beach;

Norma O'Leary, CGCS, Silver Bay Country Club, Silver Bay. Remaining on the Board from last year are John Granholt, Eau Claire Golf & Country Club, Eau Claire, Wis., and Bill Whitworth, CGCS, Northfield Golf Club, Northfield.

Outgoing directors were **Shane Andrews**, Hudson Country Club, Hudson, Wis.; **Scott Austin, CGCS**, Midland Hills Country Club, St. Paul; **Mike Olson**, Golden Valley Country Club, Golden Valley, and **Dale Wysocki**, Faribault Golf & Country Club, Faribault.

Tim Commers, Cushman Motor Company, Inc., Minneapolis, was elected as an Associate member of the Board, succeeding **Dan Miller**, North Star Turf, Inc., St. Paul.

Continuing as an Associate Member of the Board is **Steve Garske**, Par Aide Products Co., St. Paul.

A variety of awards also were presented at the 1992 session.

The Distinguished Service Award this year went to Warren Rebholz, who will retire as executive director of the Minnesota Golf Association on December 31, 1992;

Scholarship awards went to Lee Horning, Pennsylvania State University; William Gullicks, Anoka Technical College; Jeffrey Johnson, University of Minnesota, and Mark Simeon, also a U of M student.

The Dr. James Watson Journalism Award was presented to Larry Vetter, Turf Management Products, Inc., Minnetonka. **Thirty-year service awards** went to Russ Adams, University of Minnesota; James Lindblad, Wayzata Country Club, Wayzata, and Glenn Rasmussen, MTI Distributing Co., Plymouth.

Twenty-five year service awards went to Ronald Bloom, Fairway Architects, Inc., Miltona; Allen Gerdin, North Star Turf, St. Paul, and John Sternal, Enger Park Golf Course, Duluth.



Glenn Rasmussen, left, Jim Lindblad, middle, and Allen Gerdin display their plaques.



Larry Vetter receives the Dr. James Watson Journalism Award from newly-elected president Greg Hubbard.



SCHOLARSHIP WINNERS: Bill Gullicks, left, Judy Horning (accepting for husband Lee), center, and Jeff Johnson, right.