## NEW PREZ SEZ - "GET INVOLVED"!

It goes without saying that I'm honored in being elected President of the Minnesota Golf Course Superintendents' Association for 1978.

The 1977 Annual Conference held at McGuires Inn November 30 through December 2 was a tremendous success. Attendance at all of the functions increased approximately twenty percent. The educational portion of the two and one-half day Conference was of the highest quality, and the Friday evening banquet and dance was enjoyed by all. Many thanks to Carl Johnston (Annual Conference Chairman), Larry Mueller (Arrangements Chairman), Roger Kisch (Entertainment Chairman, and Dennis Hendrickson (Education Chairman) for their parts in this Conference. Also, thanks to all the Associate members who helped man our registration booths and for their support in putting on the cocktail party prior to the banquet.

Looking ahead to the Presidency, I will do the job to the best of my ability. Below you'll find a list of the Committee Chairmen for 1978. In order that this organization can remain successful and progress steadily forward, it is <u>essential</u> that we have membership participation. If you have any thoughts or specific ideas, don't hold back - let the Committee Chairmen know immediately. During the coming year, we plan on upgrading our HOLE NOTES through increased membership input, and we are also hopeful that our Turf Research Program will be expanded to possibly include summer related problems.

Yours for better turf, Keith Scott

Keith Scott, President

Minnesota Golf Course Superintendents' Association

## 1978 Committee Appointments

NOMINATING COMMITTEE
Jim Lindblad, Dean Sime

BYLAWS COMMITTEE Larry Mueller

FINANCE COMMITTEE
Dick De Splinter, George Ostler

MEMBERSHIP COMMITTEE Bill Johnson

EDITORIAL COMMITTEE
George Ostler, Keith Scott,
Bill Johnson, George Jennrich

EDUCATION COMMITTEE
Dennis Hendrickson

PUBLIC RELATIONS COMMITTEE Keith Scott, George Ostler George Jennrich

ARRANGEMENT COMMITTEE
Carl Johnston, Lyle Olson
Steve Young

ENTERTAINMENT COMMITTEE Roger Kisch

TOURNAMENT COMMITTEE
John Nylund, Dan Evavold

SCHOLARSHIP, ECOLOGY & RESEARCH COMMITTEE George Ostler, Jerry Murphy, Kurt Erdmann, Nick Dunn, Dr. Ward Stienstra

O.S.H.A. COMMITTEE Larry Mueller

STILLWATER COMMITTEE
Jerry Murphy

ANNUAL CONFERENCE COMMITTEE (COMBINED EDUCATION, ARRANGEMENTS AND ENTERTAINMENT)

Dennis Hendrickson

HISTORIAN George Jennrich