Newman Fellowship Becomes a Reality



By Monroe S. Miller, Golf Course Superintendent, Blackhawk Country Club

The Wisconsin **Turfgrass** Association's Summer Field Day on August 12th was selected as the site of the announcement that a Wisconsin Distinguished Graduate Fellowship, named in honor of Dr. Robert C. Newman, was established with the Wisconsin Turfgrass Association. The Newman family and the WTA are cooperating with the funding of the fellowship.

The Newman Fellowship is housed in the Department of Horticulture and will provide money from the endowment to pay the research assistantship for a graduate student in turfgrass science in that department. A small amount of money is also provided for research supplies and expenses.

The Newman family and the WTA will provide \$250,000 of the endowment, an amount of money that will in turn be matched by the Graduate School and by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF). Investment earnings from the \$500,000 fund the research assistantship.

The Newman Fellowship is the second of four that the WTA has set its sights on funding. The first

Dean Musbach represented the WTA.

was set in the Department of Soil Science and named for Professor Wayne R. Kussow. Plant Pathology and Entomology are the other two departments where the WTA wants WDGFs in the next four years.

It was wonderful that Bob and Diane Newman were able to attend the presentation at field day, stay for lunch and visit with old friends.



Diane and Bob Newman with the Noer building in the background.

Dr. Lloyd Peterson, Dean Elton Aberle, UW Foundation director Marcy Heim, and Dean Musbach of the WTA all participated in the presentation of framed awards. One will hang in the vestibule of the Noer Facility headquarters building. Those of us who are former students of Dr. Newman are especially pleased for him.



The UWF's Marcy Heim with Dr. Newman.



CALS Dean Aberle presents the WTA with a plaque recognizing the Newman Fellowship. It now hangs in the Noer building.



Dr. Newman and friends - Kussow, Harrison, Miller, Peterson and Smith.