

an official publication of the Wisconsin Golf Course Superintendents Association

Vol. 12, No. 4

July/August 1985 Issue

NOER ELECTED TO WSGA HALL OF FAME!



O.J. Noer has been selected by the Wisconsin State Golf Association "Hall of Fame" for his lifetime of contributions to the game of golf as one of North America's premier experts on turfgrass management and culture. The posthumous award will be presented at the noon luncheon of the 1985 Wisconsin Golf Turf Symposium that is dedicated to the memory of Mr. Noer.

Noer, featured in the September issue of the GRASSROOTS, was a friend and advisor to Wisconsin golf courses for many years. It is most appropriate that he is the first turfgrass and golf course individual elected to this most prestigious position. He was the only selection made from this

year's list of well qualified nominees. O.J. was nominated for the award by the Wisconsin Golf Course Superintendents Association.

The WSGA Hall of Fame was established in 1964. The first inductees were W.P. "Ned" Allis. Billy Sixty, Sr., Wilford Wehrle, Lyn Lardner and R.P. "Dick" Cavanaugh. These awards were presented at the 1964 WSGA State Amateur at Blackhawk Country Club in Madison. Since its beginnings in 1964, 43 individuals have been honored by election to the Hall. Noer joins the approximate 10 percent of the inductees that are in the category of "Golf Contributions" as opposed to "Golf Accomplishments." The Hall of Fame underwent some restructuring in the period of 1971 — 1974. Prior to this time only amateur players were eligible. The restructuring liberalized the rules and opened the Hall to all of those involved in golf, including professionals, media people, and now an agronomist.

The recipients of the Hall of Fame Award are chosen by a WSGA committee. The committee that unanimously selected O.J. Noer included the following individuals:

Mr. Gerald Lemberg
Mr. Richard E. Johnson
Mr. Gene Haas
Mr. A. F. "Red" Schmalzer
Mr. Thomas F. Carroll
Mr. Manuel de la Torre
Dr. David U. Cookson
Mrs. Joyce Ziske Malison
Mr. John M. Hayes
Mr. Archie Dadian

Mr. Gordon Watson Mr. Sam Ruskin Mr. Terry Galvin

Mr. Steve Bull

It seems coincidental that the news of this honor for O.J. should be released in an issue of the GRASSROOTS that is devoted to soils. He was, after all, first and foremost a Soil Scientist and an alumnus of the Department of Soil Science at the University of Wisconsin - Madison. And for Wisconsin's many Golf Course Superintendents the honor to O.J. brings honor to us as well. We could have no one better represent us and our profession and our golf courses themselves than O.J. Noer. He would be proud of that as well.