leaders

PEOPLE ON THE MOVE

Richard Donaldson was promoted to director of grounds maintenance for the Vista Mar Golf Beach Resort in San Carlos, Panama. Donaldson is a Class A member of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America, the Canadian Golf Superintendents Association, Vancouver Island Golf Course Superintendents Association and Hi-Lo Desert Golf Course Superintendents Association. Grupo Shahani, developers of the Vista Mar Golf Beach Resort, also named David Pate as general manager of the Vista Mar Golf Country Club.

Cleary Chemical hired two new sales representatives. Robert Hunter's territory includes California, Utah and Arizona, and Bill Johnson's territory includes Northern Illinois, Wisconsin and Minnesota.

BASF Specialty Products named Todd Burkdoll to the position of market development specialist supporting turf & ornamental markets in the western United States.

Scott Todd joined Valent as national business manager for Valent Professional Products, responsible for all sales, marketing and research development activities for the turf, ornamental and industrial vegetation management markets.

Jeromy Raatz was appointed chief executive officer for Aqua Control, a manufacturer of aerators, fountains and water features.

Marianne Waindle, western region sales representative for J.J. Mauget Co., was promoted to the newly created position of director of new product development.

Herbert L. Henkel, chairman, president and CEO of Ingersoll-Rand, joined The Environmental Institute for Golf's Advisory Council. The Institute is the philanthropic organization of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America.

Catherine Fuhrman joined Advan LLC as prod-

uct manager to help drive the introduction and management of new third-party crop protection products.

Bayer Environmental Science named David Spak, Ph.D., manager of biological development - turf and ornamentals. Spak will oversee activities associated with the plant health initiative, as well as the screening of new active ingredients, particularly herbicides. In addition, he will be responsible for collaborative research efforts with North Carolina State University. Previously, Spak was the fungicide product development manager for Bayer.

Rain Bird Corp. promoted Barbara Booth to group director and Michael Roberts to director of its golf strategic business unit.

David Feist joined Nufarm Americas as a U.S. product manager. The 20-year agriculture industry veteran and biologist has served in several marketing, sales and technical positions. He is based in Ft. Collins, Colo.

Northbrook, III.-based KemperSports appointed Genevieve Burke as vice president of marketing. KemperSports also named Paul Makris general manager of Binks Forest Golf Club in Wellington, Fla. He will oversee facility operations upon the course's reopening, slated for this fall.

Sean Gradomski was promoted to director of golf for Royal St. Kitts Golf Club at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino in Basseterre, St. Kitts.

DuPont Professional Products hired Nick Grisafe as its west coast sales representative.

AGROTAIN International LLC appointed Ben J. Thompson as its industrial sales manager.

Syngenta Professional Products named Todd Loecke as district sales manager for the Midwest in the turf and ornamental market.







Loecke, a veteran in the Syngenta sales force, served in both the turf and ornamental markets for the upper Midwest as a territory manager. Syngenta also appointed Diana M. Nisbet as the territory manager for northern California, serving the golf, lawn care and ornamental markets. Before joining Syngenta, Nisbet held sales and leadership positions including turf and ornamental sales specialist for SePro Corp.

The Golf Course Superintendents Association of America awarded 20 college scholarships as part of its Legacy Awards program. Each scholarship carries a \$1,500 award. The 2007 GCSAA Legacy Award Winners for College are: Molly Elmer, University of Arizona; Patrick McIntyre, University of California; Casey Wright, Baylor University; Katelin Flynn, University of Colorado at Boulder; Jaron Andrews, New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology; Brianne Smith, Cornell University; Bethany Brisco, Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology; and Jordan Vickers, Case Western Reserve University. The 2007 GCSAA Legacy Award Winners for High School are: Devon Barrett, Michigan State University; Stephen Kruzick, Rice University; Benjamin Anders, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Hallie Mosblack, University of South Carolina; Justin O'Neill, Brown University; Christie Meda, College of Charleston; Katharyn Heselwood, University of Montana-Missoula; Rose Orr, Albertson College of Idaho; Pamela Erickson, Iowa State University; Ashley Mueller, Purdue University; Nicholas Hess, University of Texas; and Christen Kerins, University of Central Florida.