PGA tempest back in teapot

Elaborate compromise allows touring professionals more 'freedom' within Association framework.

The Professional Golfers Association of America emerged from its 50th annual meeting as an entity—postponing, at least for the present, the threat of a split between tournament players and home club professionals.

A compromise whereby the players acknowledge that final administrative responsibility for the conduct of the Tour rests with the PGA was reached when the Association agreed to maintain the existing apparatus for tourney and TV negotiations and conceded that direct management of the Tournament Bureau remains with the players' group.

This compromise was worked out in hectic day and night sessions between the PGA officers and representatives of the players' group before the annual meeting began. This enabled Tournament Committee Chairman Tommy Jacobs to announce to a cheering group of delegates that the players were withdrawing their petition for a separate Section. The agreement was described by PGA President Max Elbin as "a new level of understanding."

Although aversion of the much-feared split between players and working pros overshadowed other items on the agenda, more far-reaching effects may be seen in several important resolutions which were adopted and will become part of the new, streamlined Constitution which became effective January 1.

A resolution presented by the Metro-

politan Section was adopted which will restrict PGA co-sponsored tournaments to those clubs or courses where a PGA member owns and operates the shop concession or functions under a contract acceptable to his Section's Executive Committee. However, tournament contracts now in force will continue to be honored.

Also adopted was a resolution by the Southwest Section which will establish a new membership classification ("L") for members working under a salary-only arrangement. These head professionals and those employed by them will revert to a Class L status, whereby they have the restricted privileges of Class B, Class Jr.-A, Class A-Ret. and Class F but pay the same dues as required by their previous classification.

Another Southwest Section proposal accepted by the delegates was a resolution which requires that only experience gained in the employ of a Class A PGA member shall count towards membership in the Association.

Delegates also adopted a third Southwest Section resolution which requires that any transfer of membership from one Section to another be accompanied by a release from the Section of origin, and that the receiving Section shall have 30 days to evaluate the newcomer.

Some delegates expressed regret that a tough resolution proposed by the Northern California Section was watered down. It would have discouraged tournament



PGA officers (from left): Pres. Max Elbin, Treas. Warren Orlick and Sec. Leo Fraser.

players from lending their names to discount-priced merchandise which competes with pro-line products. The resolution now limits the use of a player's name or likeness "to misrepresent" golf merchandise. Subjecting the PGA to possible anti-trust action by the Government was the chief argument used by those who won the weaker version of the endorsement resolution.

The Boundries Committee proposed and the Executive Committee approved a reshuffling of District lines to reduce the number of Districts and Vice-Presidents from 10 to six. Effective next year, it will shrink the Executive Committee from 15 to 11 members.

Action on several fronts was taken by the Tournament Committee. It restored some latitude in the use of the eight sponsor exemptions, allowing non-members of the Association to play in PGAapproved tournaments as guests of the sponsors, provided they accept only three such invitations in any one calendar year.

The money winners' exemption list will be expanded from 50 to 60, although this is expected to add only two or three additional players. Prize money in the PGA Team Championship will become official with the 1967 championship.

The ban against photography during tournament play will be continued, although photographers will be permitted to take pictures of players during practice rounds.

Present officers of the PGA, President Max Elbin, Secretary Leo Fraser and Treasurer Warren Orlick, were continued in office for another term. Three new vice presidents were named to the Executive Committee: Bob Popp, Omaha (Neb.) CC; Noble Chalfant, Denver (Col.) CC, and John Conley, Shannopin CC, Pittsburgh, Pa. Dick Irwin, Chicago, was elected chairman of the Advisory Committee; Curtis Person, Memphis, Tenn. is vice-chairman, and Giles Crowell, Lexington, N.C. is secretary.

Honorary memberships were given to former President Dwight D. Eisenhower and Jock Mackinnon, Canadian PGA President.

Billy Burke was the 1966 nominee to Golf's Hall of Fame. Billy Casper was named Player-of-the-Year, and Bill Strausbaugh, Jr., Ellicott City, Md. was honored as Professional-of-the-Year.