For Proven Performance



Look to KRO-KAR . . Something worth Crowing about!

KRO-KAR

Formerly Worthington Champ

- Quality
 - Reliability
 - Comfort

Big things are happening at KRO-KAR . . . improved production, engineering, and service to assure positive operation conditions. The Kro-Kar under the most rugged electric is perfect for fleet operators where low maintenance and reliability are

Contact TREO-TRAJE

PRODUCTS COMPANY

Form A

76 Fourteenth St. Battle Creek, Mich. Phone 616/962-7505



Smallwood, Hannigan Win Golf Writers Awards

Irwin Smallwood, Greensboro, N.C. Daily News, and Frank Hannigan of the USGA were news division and feature division winners in the Golf Writers' eighth annual awards competition for golf articles published in newspapers in 1964. Each received \$250 from Brunswick Sports-MacGregor Professional Golf, which annually offers \$1,000 to contest winners.

Others who received awards were: News Division - Sam Blair, Dallas Morning News, \$150 and \$100 for second and third place; and Feature Division - Bruce Phillips, Raleigh, N.C. Times, \$150 and Jack Murphy, San Diego Union, \$100.

Smallwood won the News award for his description of Arnold Palmer's fourth triumph in the Masters. It was the third consecutive time that he was given the News Division first place prize.

Hannigan's satirical gem on the new breed of golf fan first appeared in the USGA Journal. It was picked up by all the national news services and reprinted in more than 400 newspapers.

A total of 230 articles was submitted by the golf writers. Dr. Jay Jensen, head of the University of Illinois journalism department, and his staff judged the entries for the eighth consecutive year. Bylines and mastheads are deleted from the copy submitted to Jensen so that anonymity of the writers who submit entries is assured.

CDGA Re-Elects Barnhart

Horace G. Barnhart of Butterfield CC continues as president of the Chicago District GA through 1965. He was reelected at a meeting which preceded the CDCA's Golden Tee anniversary dinner on Dec. 1. Other officers are James L. O'Keefe, Evanston CC, vp; Lennox G. Haldeman, Edgewater GC, treasurer; Ralph C. Peterson, River Forest CC, secretary; and Stacy W. Osgood, Flossmoor CC, counsel. Sixteen directors also were elected at the meeting.

> Buyers' Guide P 135