ONLY ELECTRICALLY POWERED

ROTARY BRUSH



Neet - Kleet* Pat. Pend. TM Saves Time * Saves Greens Saves Shoes * Saves Carpets Quick - Convenient to use LONG LASTING NYLON BRUSHES • Heavy-duty construction throughout • Maintenance-free design • Mobile • Just seconds per shoe • Coin operation optional • Plug into 110v A.C. supply

GOLF SHOE CLEANER

Model L-59

Distributor inquiries invited. For information please write:

Leonard Industries

14877 Valley Vista Blvd., Dept. S Sherman Oaks, Calif. Phone: (213) 789-5836

"Neet-Kleet Shoe Cleaners not only are easy to use and maintain, but they will more than pay for themselves in savings on floors and carpeting." Glen Dunlap, *Head Golf Professional, The Los Angeles Country Club*

Cliff Roberts Wins Writers' Richardson Golf Trophy

The winner of the 1963 Golf Writers' William D. Richardson trophy for outstanding contribution to golf is Cliff Roberts, chairman of the Masters. He received 129 votes in the nationwide balloting among the writers, polling more than twice as many as either Gene Sarazen or Jimmy Demaret, who shared the runnerup spot with 62.

The Richardson award was instituted in 1947 as a memorial to the late golf editor of the New York Times.

Roberts, 70, is a New York investment banker. In 1930 he located for Bob Jones, the lovely property that now is the Augusta National site. Four years later, the first Masters tournament was played there. Roberts talked Jones, who had retired from competitive golf, into playing in the event.

Roberts gave the Masters its name. He also set up the rigid pattern of eligibility for invitations to play in it. His financial acumen has built the tournament's purse from \$5,000 in the mid-'30s to the \$112,000 that was distributed in 1963.

Behind Roberts and Demaret and Sarazen in the Richardson voting was Mrs. Glenna Collett Vare, six time winner of the Women's Amateur. She received 46 votes. Others who received votes: Waco Turner (35); Thomas G. McMahon (35); Thomas W. Crane (29); James Standish (22); Maurie Luxford (12) and Julius Boros (11).

Sarazen and Demaret are former Masters winners and Bob Jones, who has been closely identified with Augusta National and the Masters since both were founded, won the 1957 Richardson award.

Northern Cal Turf Council

Officers of the Northern Calif. Turfgrass Council are D. W. Galbraith, president; A. J. Brown, vp; and G. W. Bell, secretary-treasurer. Thirteen turf organizations are in the Council. Its headquarters are at 155 Industrial Street in San Francisco.