Revisions Made in Exemptions for PGA Championship

Revisions have been made in exemptions for the PGA Championship, to be played at Olympia Fields (Ill.) July 27-30. Exemptions will be cut down by reducing the low scorers in last year's Championship from 32 to 24; by cutting down the top 25 TT players to 20; and reducing the leading money winners of 1960, and those who are leading money winners in 1961 following the Masters, from 25 to 20.

Also exempt from qualifying for the 1961 event are Jay Hebert, last year's champion; 25 other former PGA champions; the 1961 PGA Seniors champion; the ten member of the 1959 Ryder Cup team; current champions of the PGA's 34 local sections; Chuck Tanis, Olympia's head pro; and the 1960 Open winner,

Arnold Palmer.

Reduction of exemptions has been made to trim the field to a workable size of highest quality. A minimum purse of \$30,000 has been established for the Championship, although in 1960 at Firestone CC in Akron, O., the total payoff amounted to \$63,000. The \$11,000 that Jay Hebert got for winning the Firestone event was a record.

May 17 Deadline

June 19 has been set as the date for qualifying in the pro organization's 34 local sections. With special permission, however, local qualifying dates may be scheduled between June 20 and 26. The deadline for entries is May 17. All applications for entry must reach PGA national headquarters on or before the dead-line date. For the first time, sectional quotas will be based on the number of entrants in the sectional qualifying round. Previously the quotas were based on the number of members in a section.

The Pick-Congress Hotel in Chicago has been designated as downtown head-

quarters for the Championship.

National Golf Week Observes 10th Anniversary This Year

National Golf Day will mark its 10th anniversary by changing to National Golf Week. Persons who aspire to "beat the champion" can do so any time between May 29 and June 6. The score of the round they will shoot at will be established on the latter date when Arnold Palmer, the Open winner, and Jay Hebert, the PGA Championship defender, meet at Olympia Fields (Ill.) CC.

Opened Up For Par 3 Players

A slightly different method of determining who has beaten the champion will be used this year. Participants will shoot against his score "in relation to par" rather than on a stroke-for-stroke basis. If, for example, either Palmer or Hebert win with a two-under-par 68 at Olympia, it will take a three-under-par score (including handicap) to beat the champion's figure. This will enable players at Par 58 and Par 3 courses to take part in National Golf Week.

Golf charities benefit from National Golf Week. In nine years they have realized a net of nearly \$750,000 from proceeds of the nationwide promotion.

First Flight Gambles Big Money in Dunedin Championships

First Flight Co., Chattanooga, Tenn., is co-sponsor of two tournaments being played at the PGA National course in Dunedin in February. It is putting up a total of \$15,000 for the PGA Quarter Century club tournament, Feb. 7-8, and the National Golf Club championship, which will be played from the 23rd through the 28th. However, the company is leaving itself open for an outlay of \$75,000 altogether if a new course record is set and if someone scores a hole-in-one. This inducement is being offered in both tournaments.

\$50,000 for An Ace

The National course record is 64. If a contestant shoots a 63 or better in the Quarter Century, he'll receive \$10,000. If, in turn, the new record is shattered in the National tournament, another \$10,-000 will be doled out. In the case of the hole-in-one, however, First Flight will pay \$50,000 to the first man who scores an ace, but if the trick is duplicated the company won't pay an additional award. However, if two or more players score aces in the National, the \$50,000 bonus will be divided equally among them.

Prize money in the 36-hole Quarter Century is \$5,000. For the Club championship, which is played over 72 holes, \$10,000 is being offered. Charlie Sheppard is the defending Q. C. champion while the National title went to Toby Lyons in 1960.