

Roy Kirsch, Vern Walker, Bunny Richards, Dr. Dick Marshall, Howard Linch and Ralph Tyler at testimonial for Richards.

Hillcrest Members Salute Richards with Shower of Gifts

By DEL BLACK Golf writer, Lincoln (Neb.) States Journal

William J. (Bunny) Richards, pro at Hillcrest CC, Lincoln, Neb., was honored at a "Bunny Richards Day" in Sept. at what turned out to be the largest membership event ever held at the club.

Richards, at Hillcrest for 15 years and a past pres. of the Nebraska PGA, was showered with numerous gifts including a 1960 Rambler station wagon, wrist watch and 12-gauge automatic shotgun, the latter presented by women members. Mrs. Richards wasn't forgotten, either. She received a 24-in. Magnavox stereo theatre.

Letter from Ike

Richards also received a tribute from Pres. Eisenhower, a personal letter which cited him for "having won the respect and affection of so many golfers and done so much for the game."

Members of the committee who organized the Richards' "Day" were Roy Kirsch, Hillcrest, pres., Vern Walker, Ralph Tyler, Jr., Dr. and Mrs. Dick Marshall and Howard Linch. Among the guests was Bud Williamson, pro at the neighboring CC of Lincoln.

Palmer Wins Pro-of-Year Award by a Landslide

Arnold Palmer is the PGA professional

golfer-of-the-year for 1960.

Arnold, a 31-year-old second-generation pro, turned the nation-wide poll of PGA members and representatives of press, radio and television, into the greatest landslide in golf history. He received, 1,088 votes out of the 1,217 cast by golf professionals and newsmen.

Jay Hebert, 1960 PGA Champion, was second with 52. Jerry Barber, 1960 Tournament of Champions winner and 1959 PGA runnerup, was third with 19

PGA runnerup, was third with 19.

Token votes for 31 other players accounted for the remaining 58 ballots. Each of these men received from one to five votes.

All voting records in the 13-year-old pro golfer-of-the-year award were broken. This is indicative of the tremendous impact that Palmer has had on golf and of

the great interest in the game.

Palmer's total was more than double the previous record figure given Dick Mayer in 1958. Palmer is the third son of a professional to win the award. The others are Doug Ford (1955) and Jack Burke, Jr. (1956). Ben Hogan has won the award four times.