

At New Jersey's College of Golfing Knowledge were: Monte Norcross, Metuchen CC, Otto Greiner, Knickerbocker CC, Emery Thomas, Forest Hill, Johnny Farrell, Baltusrol, Dick Farley and Harry Obitz, Shawnee-on-Delaware, and Vito Eaeta, Forest Hill, N. J. assistant-pro-of-the-year.

N. J. PGA Section Holds Midsummer Golf College

New Jersey PGA section held its annual mid-summer Golf College at Forest Hill Field Club, Bloomfield, N. J., Aug. 31, with 75 persons in attendance and seven pros giving merchandise and teaching demonstrations. The dual clinic was directed by J. Bud Geoghegan, Crestmont CC, West Orange, the dean of the College of Golf Knowledge. His faculty included Johnny Farrell, 1928 Open Champion, who held forth on putting; Al Mengert, who discussed the playing of the wedge; Otto Greiner, who suggested teaching methods for curing the slice; and Emery Thomas, who gave hints on coping with the hook.

Guest professors were Harry Obitz and Dick Farley, of Shawnee-on-Delaware, Pa., who discussed and gave demonstrations of pro merchandising methods that have made them famous as golf enterprisers, and also explained the workings of "The Swing's the Thing" mechanics that have been demonstrated to thousands of golf followers in the U. S.

The College of Golfing Knowledge has been in operation for several years and is considered one of the country's better sectional programs.

Writers, PGA Members Vote for Pro Golfer of the Year

About 1,000 sports writers and 4,500 PGA members will select the PGA's Professional Golfer of the Year. Ballots are now being counted at Dunedin, having been mailed in before Sept. 28th by those

taking part in the voting. Golf's No. 1 pro will be honored at the annual PGA meeting, Dec. 3-10, in Clearwater, Fla., along with the golf professional of the year (home pro) and 1959 PGA Hall of Fame electees.

Dow Finsterwald was named Pro Golfer of the Year in 1958 and Harry Pezzullo, Mission Hills, Northbrook, Ill. was elected

home pro of the year.

The Professional Golfer award has been made annually since 1948 and every winner has won either the USGA Open or PGA Championship in the year in which he was selected.

Illinois Journalism Faculty Judges Writers' Contributions

Entries in the Burke-PGA golf writing competition for members of the Golf Writers Assn. were to have been submitted by Sept. 30. After date lines, bylines and other identifying marks were deleted by Carol McCue of Chicago Dist. Golf Assn., who processes the entries, they were sent to Theodore Petersen, dean of the University of Illinois journalism school. The journalism faculty there decides the winners in the two divisions, newswriting and features. Total prize money has been increased from \$750 to \$1,000 by Jack Schram of Burke Golf Co., sponsor of the two previous writers competitions. Last year Dana Mozley, New York Daily News, was the news division winner, and Tom Davison, Houston Post, won the feature article prize.

Beck Announces Faculty for PGA Business School

Emil Beck, chmn. of the PGA Business School, has announced that the following persons will serve as instructors when the school gets underway Jan. 10 at the Ft. Harrison Hotel, Clearwater, Fla.: Joe Devany, Grosse Ile, Mich., John Budd, Endicott, N. Y., Bill Hardy, Chevy Chase, Md., George Aulbach, Lufkin, Tex., and Willie Ogg, Tampa, Fla. The school will last one week, following generally the same format as in its first three years of operation.

Attendance applications, Beck reports, have been pouring into PGA headquarters in Dunedin at an amazing rate.

Texas A&M Conference

Texas A&M's annual turfgrass conference will be held Dec. 7-9 at College Station.