was back of the shot-making problems I took a course in surveying and mapping at Columbia university summer school, and worked my way across the Atlantic on a cattleboat to study St. Andrews and other great Scotch and English courses.

In competition with those marvelous masters of yesteryear, Alex Smith, John Black, Tom Kerrigan, Hagen, Barnes, Armour and the rest of them; in working with old masters who were not only fine players but excellent clubmakers, such as Jack and Hugh Gordon, Bill Entwhistle, J. H. T. Brown, Jim Murphy, Frank Thayer, James Huish, Claude Cameron, my brother Ernest (an early sec. of the PGA), Arthur Reid (Wilf's brother), and the rest of them, I further learned the delight and the mystery of golf architecture.

Then as a golf salesman for Wright and Ditson and for Wilson I got more insight into the manner in which architecture influences club design—and the contrary, too, in the case of the ball.

Then those pioneers of golf architecture in America, Alex Findlay, Tom Bendelow and Donald Ross, with whom I had the joy of studying and working, expanded and deepened my love for the art whose beauty and excitement captivates millions.

But, possibly more than all the other influences that taught me the story of golf architecture were the happy and instructive hours teaching and playing rounds with members of clubs I served as pro. Part of the delight of golf is in getting a youngster such as Jess Sweetser, whose dad brought him around for lessons, teaching him all you can and being richly rewarded by having him learn more, then thinking about how he will have to pass his examinations under the testing conditions of golf architecture.

Grainger to be Made USGA President, Jan. 28

I SAAC B. GRAINGER of New York, will take office as the USGA's 33d president when the association holds its 60th annual meeting, Sat., Jan. 23, at the Vanderbilt hotel, New York City. Grainger was named by the USGA Nominating committee, headed by James D. Standish, Jr., to be elevated from the USGA vice-presidency. Nominating committee selections are tantamount to election.

Grainger has been a member of the USGA Executive committee since 1945, was Sec. from 1946 through 1949 and a Vp since 1950. He is Chairman of the Rules of Golf committee and was formerly Chairman of the Amateur Status and Conduct committee. He was Pres., Metropolitan Golf Association (N. Y.) from 1943 through 1945.

Grainger, who was born in Wilmington, N. C., and was graduated from Princeton University in 1917, has been a resident of the Metropolitan New York area since 1934 and is Executive Vp of the Chemical Bank and Trust Co., New York. He is a member of the Montclair (N. J.) GC; the Links Golf Club, Roslyn, N. Y.; the National Golf Links of America, Southampton, N. Y.; the Pine Valley, GC, Clementon, N. J.; the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland; and The Links Club, New York, N.Y.

As Chairman of the Rules of Golf Committee, he participaed in the conferences with representatives of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland, in England and Scotland in 1951 which developed the first uniform code of rules.

Grainger will succeed Totton P. Heffelfinger, Minneapolis, Minn. Heffelfinger has been a USGA official since 1942 and served as president during the last two years.

Other changes in the USGA administration:

John D. Ames, Chicago, Ill., will be a Vp to succeed Grainger. Ames is now Secretary.

Richard S. Tufts, Pinehurst, N. C., has been re-nominated to be a Vp.

Charles B. Grace, Philadelphia, has been nominated to be sec. to succeed Ames.

Charles L. Peirson, Boston, Mass., has been re-nominated to be treas.

Thomas H. Choate, New York, N. Y., Gordon E. Kummer, Milwaukee, Wis., and F. Warren Munro, Portland, Ore., have been nominated to the Executive committee to succeed Heffelfinger, Lewis A. Lapham, New York, N. Y., and Corydon Wagner, Tacoma, Wash. Heffelfinger is retiring after the customary two years as president and Lapham and Wagner have asked to be relieved because of the pressures of business.

Nominated for the 1955 Nominating Committee: George W. Blosson, Jr., Chicago, Ill., Chairman; C. W. Benedict, White Plains, N. Y.; Robert W. Goldwater, Phoenix, Ariz.; Richmond Gray, Richmond, Va.; and Hal A. hite, Detroit, Mich.

In addition to Standish, the present Nominating committee comprises: Jerome P. Bowes, Jr., Chicago, Ill.; W. Hamilton Gardner, Buffalo, N. Y.; Gerald H. Phipps, Denver, Colo.; and William McWane, Birmingham, Ala.