

Photo by Tom Mascaro

Group which attended Northwest Turf Conference at Pullman, Wash., Oct. 13-14.

Golf Course Landscaping

F. S. LaBar, LaBars' Rhododendron Nursery, Stroudsburg, Pa.

Turf Experiences in 1952

Northern Golf Courses -

- O. J. Noer, Agronomist, Milwaukee Sewerage Commission, Milwaukee, Wis.
- Arthur E. Anderson, Supt., Brae Burn CC, West Newton, Mass.

Southern Golf Courses -----

- Dr. James R. Watson, Jr., Agronomist, Toro Mfg. Corp., Minneapolis, Minn.
- J. L. Jennings, Supt., River Oaks CC, Houston, Tex.

Why Interfere With Our Golf?

V. J. Pazzetti, Jr., Saucon Valley CC, Bethlehem, Pa.

- George Hurd, Green Cmmn., Saucon Valley CC, Bethlehem, Pa.
- Adm. Jack Phillips, Green Chmn., Army-Navy CC, Arlington, Va.

Three Superintendents to be selected

Summary of Day's Program

Dr. Fred V. Grau, Director, USGA Green Section, Beltsville, Md.

Nause Elected Pocono Turf Assn. President

Pocono Turf Assn. at annual meeting, held at the Buck Hill Falls (Pa.) GC, elected officers for 1953 as follows:

Pres. — Frank Nause, Valley GC, Hazelton, Pa.

VP—John Patterson, Eddy Farms, Sparrowbush, N.Y.

Reelected were: Ted C. Weiser, Treas., Country Club of Scanton, Clarks Summit, Pa., and Al. Wilfong, Secy., Wyoming Valley CC, Wilkes Barre, Pa.

Retiring president was Harry J. Drennan, of the Buck Hill Falls (Pa.) GC.

Heffelfinger to Be Re-elected USGA Head

Totton P. Heffelfinger, Minneapolis, has been nominated for re-election as president of the USGA, and 13 of the 14 other members of the present administration also have been nominated for re-election.

James W. Walker, of New York, has asked to be relieved as treasurer, after having served the Association since 1948. Charles L. Pierson, of Boston, a member of the Executive committee since 1948, has been nominated to succeed him.

The nominee for the resulting vacancy on the Executive Committee is Edward E. Lowery, of San Francisco, a former Director of the Northern California Golf Assn. and the Massachusetts Amateur champion in 1927.

The Member Clubs will elect their officers for 1953 during the annual meeting at the Princeton Club, in New York, at 12 noon on Saturday, January 31.

John G. Jackson, of New York, is Chairman of the Nominating Committee. The re-nomination of the present officers for a second year is in accordance with custom. The other members of the Nominating Committee are: Hunter Hicks, of Glencoe, Ill., Crawford Rainwater, of Pensacola, Fla., Lee S. Read, of Louisville, Ky., and Jack Westland, of Everett, Wash.

Other officers of the USGA who'll be elected at the annual meeting are vps Isaac B. Grainger, Montclair (N. J.) GC and Richard B. Tufts, Pinehurst (N. C.) CC; Sec. John D. Ames, Old Elm Club, Ft. Sheridan, Ill.; Treas. Charles L. Pierson, The Country Club, Brookline, Mass., and General Counsel Fraser M. Horn, National Golf Links of America, Southampton, N.Y.