granted the shop is showing exactly the same merchandise they've seen before and there's no inducement to look around and see what might be new that they want and need.

Moore says he is inclined to believe that changing shop arrangement a couple of times a season for some pros would have the same stimulating effect as a bargain sale. He adds that he rotates merchandise in his shop like farmers rotate their crops.

The shop is located between the locker-

room and the first tee.

Gordon Kummer Elected Pres., Western Golf Assn.

Gordon Kummer, Milwaukee CC, was elected pres., Western Golf Assn. at the 53rd annual meeting of the second oldest golf group in the United States.

A past president of the Wisconsin State Golf Assn. and a top-flight amateur player, Kummer succeeds Jerome B. Bowes, Jr., Chicago insurance executive, as head of WGA.

The University of Minnesota awarded the 35th Western Junior Championship, oldest of the nation's teen-aged competition. It will be held from June 17 to 20, 1952. Dates and sites of the 50th Western Amateur and 49th Western Open championships will be announced within the next 30 days, Kummer stated.

Two Chicagoans - Harold A. Moore of Exmoor and James L. O'Keefe of Evan-ston—were added to the 1952 slate of WGA officers, Moore as treasurer and O'Keefe as general counsel.

Other officers are: vps, Cameron Eddy, Chicago; Lewis F. Rodgers, Dallas; Roy W. Walholm, Colorado Springs, and Robert R. Walker, South Bend; Honorary vps, Bing Crosby, Hollywood; Bob Hope, Hollywood; Charles Evans, Jr., Chicago, and J. Leslie Rollins, Cambridge, Mass.; Secretary, Hiram A. Lewis, Kansas City.

New directors elected include: Phil Atwood, Chicago; Walter W. Cruttenden, Chicago; William H. Fobes, Jr., St. Paul; Marshal I. McMahon, Chicago; Stanley McGiveran, Toledo; C. L. "Bud" Miller, Detroit; Stanley Van Dyk, Chicago, and Arthur Wood, Chicago.

Holdover directors are: one-year term-Edward P. Allis, Milwaukee; George Coleman, Miami, Okla.; Joseph I. Cummings, Indianapolis; Harry L. Givan, Seattle; David J. Griffith, Detroit; J. Cleve Helferich, Detroit; Hunter Hicks, Chicago; Robert A. Hudson, Portland, Ore.; Maurice Luxford, North Hollywood, Calif.; Roy D. Moore, Memphis, and Mahlon Rucker, Spokane.

Two-year term—Charles S. Connell, Chicago; Antonio Correa, Mexico City; Robert W. Goldwater, Phoenix; Hord Hardin, St. Louis; Paul H. Hyde, Buffalo;

Walter Mullady, Chicago; Harry L. Robinson, Jr., Minneapolis, and Murray Whitfield, Chicago.

Three-year term-Charles Evans, Jr., Leon Kranz, Stuart Smithson, Richard L. Snideman and Gardner Stern, Chicago.

Heffelfinger Is USGA **New President**

Totton P. Heffelfinger will succeed James D. Standish, Jr., as USGA pres., at the association's annual meeting, Princeton Club, New York, Jan. 26.

Heffelfinger was a letterman in track at Yale, in the Navy in World War I and back as a retread in II. He was pres., Minnesota GA, and a director of the Western GA. He's been on the USGA Executive committee since 1942, and has been chmn. of its Public Links and Sectional Affairs committees. He is past commander of the American Legion Dept. of Canada. He is a grain merchant. Even the office boys around the place call him "Tot." He is one of a family famed and durable in American sports.

Isaac B. Grainer will be re-elected to a vice presidency. The other vp will be Richard S. Tufts to succeed Heffelfinger. Tufts has been USGA sec., to which post John D. Ames of Chicago will be elected. James W. Walker of Westbury, L. I. will succeed Ames as treas.

John W. Fischer, Cincinnati, 1936 National Amateur champion, will succeed Standish on the USGA executive commit-

Fraser M. Horn, National Golf Links, Southampton, L. I., is the USGA general counsel.

Executive committee:

John D. Ames, Old Elm Club. J. Frederic Byers, Jr., Allegheney CC. William P. Castleman, Jr., Brook Hollow GC.

John G. Clock, Virginia CC. Frederick L. Dold, Wichita CC. John W. Fischer, Western Hills CC. T. R. Garlington, Atlanta Athletic Club Charles B. Grace, Gulph Mills GC. Isaac B. Grainger, Montclair GC. Totton P. Heffelfinger, Minikahda Club Lewis A. Lapham, San Francisco GC. Charles L. Peirson, The Country Club, Brookline, Mass.

Richard S. Tufts, Pinehurst CC. Corydon Wagner, Tacoma C & GC. James W. Walker, Meadow Brook Club, Westbury, N. Y.

1953 Nominating Committee:

John G. Jackson, Chmn., National Golf Links of America

Hunter Hicks, Skokie CC. Crawford Rainwater, Pensacola CC. Lee S. Read, Audubon CC. Jack Westland, Everett G & CC.