GCSAA honoring some of industry's most distinguished

Six-time PGA Player of the Year Tom Watson will be one of several people honored during the 63rd GCSAA International Golf Course Conference and Show on Feb. 17 in New Orleans.

Tom Watson will be presented the Old Tom Morris Award, the highest honor of the Golf Course Superintendents Association of America., at the closing banquet.

Meanwhile, at ceremonies on Feb. 13, George M. Kozelnicky of Athens, Ga., and C.E. "Tuck" Tate of Sarasota, Fla., will receive the organization's 1992 Distinguished Service Awards and Ken Flisek, of The Club at Nevillewood near Pittsburgh, will be given the 1992 Leo Feser Editorial Award.

GCSAA established the Old Tom Morris Award in 1982 to recognize individuals who have made outstanding lifetime contributions to the game. The award is named in memory of Old Tom Morris (1821-1908), greenkeeper and golf professional at the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland.

In his nomination for the award, Watson was cited for his charitable and community efforts. The Children's Mercy Hospital Golf Classic is an 18-hole exhibition team match hosted by Watson which raises money for the local Kansas City (Mo.) hospital. Every year since 1980,

Watson has brought in golf's finest players for a one-day golf match. The Golf Classic has raised more than \$3.5 million for Children's Mercy Hospital.

Watson's "Clubs For Kids" gives boys and girls in the Greater Kansas City area an opportunity to learn about golf that they ordinarily would not have. The biennial event was first held in 1981. The Distinguished Service Award cites Kozelnicky and Tate for longtime service to the industry.

Kozelnicky has served 25 years as executive secretary of the Georgia GCSA. He initated the chapter's newsletter and until two years ago was editor, staff writer, layout designer and circulation manager.

While professor of plant pathology at the University of Georgia, Kozelnicky researched spring dead spot. After retirement, Kozelnicky handled chapter business from his home until the association moved into a new office in 1987. He was succeeded in 1989 by Karen White.

Tate, 81, owner/operator of the Frankfort

(Mich.) Golf Club until retirement, in 1986 received the Distinguished Service Award from the Michigan Turfgrass Foundation of which he is a past president.

Tate was on the board of directors during acquisition and construction of Hancock Turfgrass Research Center at Michigan State University. He endowed a scholarship fund, which now exceeds \$100,000, for MSU turf students.

The Feser Award is presented for best article written by a GCSAA-member superintendent and published in Golf Course Management.

Flisek's prize-winning article, "Using Proven Basic Principles To Improve Your Professional Image," appeared in the February 1991 issue.

Kozelnicky, Tate join 60 years of great names benefitting the industry Watson latest of Old Tom Morris winners Pastwinners of the GCSAA's Distinguished Service Award are: 1991 — George Kozelnicky C.E. Tate 1991 Dr. Noel Jackson W. Bruce Matthews Dr. Eliot Roberts 1990 — William Bengeyfield Dr. Thomas Watschke 1989 -James W. Brandt Dr. C. Richard Skogley - Dr. Jack Butler 1988 -William B. Davis Dr. Kenyon Payne Eberhard Steiniger, CGCS George Kozelnicky C.E. 'Tuck' Tate 1987 - Dr. James R. Love Past winners of the GCSAA's David S. Gourlay Sr. 1980 — Manuel L. Francis 1960 — Joseph C. Dey Jr. Old Tom Morris Award are: 1986 — Andrew Bertoni Dr. John Madison Helen F. Lengfield 1992 - Tom Watson John B. Steel 1979 - Dr. C. Reed Funk Oyvind J. Noer 1991 — William Campbell 1978 — Dr. Roy L. Goss Howard Kaerwer 1959 -- Dr. John Monteith 1990 — Sherwood Moore **Chester Mendenhall** Dr. John C. Harper II Oyvind J. Noer 1989 — Chi Chi Rodriguez 1985 — James L. Blackledge Arthur A. Snyder **Richard S. Tufts** 1988 — Gene Sarazen William C. Campbell 1977 — Harold W. Stodola 1958 - Dr. Glenn Burton 1987 - Robert Trent Jones Sr. Clifford A. Wagoner Paul E. Weiss Sr. Professor L.F. Dickinson 1986 - Patty Berg 1984 — Warren A. Bidwell Robert M. Williams Malcolm R. McLaren 1985 — Gerald Ford Keith Nisbet 1976 - Dr. Joseph M. Duich Professor H. Burton Musser 1984 — Bob Hope 1983 -- James B. Moncrief Leo J. Feser Joseph Valentine 1983 — Arnold Palmer Dr. Joseph Troll Thomas C. Mascaro 1957 — Thomas Dawson Jr. Dr. James R. Watson 1975 -- Dr. William H. Daniel Herbert Graffis Flisek latest among 1982 - Milton J. Bauman Raymond H. Gerber 1954 - Dr. Fred V. Grau

Feser honorees



Former Leo Feser winners: 1991 — Ken Flisek 1990 — Gary Schinderle 1989 - Ted Horton and Mary Medonis 1988 — Sherwood Moore 1987 - David E. Hassel 1986 — David C. Harmon 1985 — Theodore W. Woerhle 1984 — Jerry W. Redden 1983 — Gordon C. Witteveen 1982 — Louis E. Miller 1981 - Paul N. Vovkin 1980 — Donald J. Pakkala 1979 - Oliver Miles 1978 — Dan Jones 1977 — James M. Hildebrand 1956 — Tom Dawson Jr. **GOLF COURSE NEWS**

Hans C. Schmiesser James Smith 1932 — Colonel John Morley Bill Roberts expected to join distinguished line of GCSAA presidents

Dr. Fred Grau

1964 — Theodore W. Woehrle

1961 — Dr. Jesse H. DeFrance

Eugene Marzalf

1973 - Walter R. Boysen

	the same and the state of the state of the same		
Past presidents of GCSAA are:			
1991 —	Stephen Cadenelli		
1990 —	- Gerald Faubel		
1989 —	Dennis Lyon		
1988 —	John A. Segui		
1987 —	Donald Hearn		
	- Riley L. Stottern		
	Eugene D. Baston		
	James W. Timmerman		
	- Robert W. Osterman		
1982 —	James A. Wyllie		
	Michael R. Bavier		
1980 —	Melvin B. Lucas Jr.		
	- Charles H. Tadge		
1978 -	- George W. Cleaver		
1977 —	Theodore W. Woehrle		
1976 —	- Richard W. Malpass		
1975 —	Palmer Maples Jr.		
1974 —	- Charles G. Baskin		
	- Clifford A. Wagoner		
1972 -	- Robert V. Mitchell		
	- Richard C. Blake		
1970 -	- Norman W. Kramer		
1969 -	John J. Spodnik		

Sherwood A. Moore

Alexander M. Radko

Ben O. Warren Jr.

Dr. Ralph Engel

Geoffrey S. Cornish

1981-



Bill Roberts — the choice for 1992

1968 — James W. Brandt
1967 — Walter R. Boysen
1966 — Edward Roberts Jr.
1965 — L.R. Shields
1964 — David S. Moote
1963 — Roy W. Nelson
1962 - Sherwood A. Moore
1961 — L.E. Lambert

1960 - 1	James E. Thomas
1959-1	Elmer G. Border
1958-1	Robert M. Williams
1957 1	Paul E. Weiss Sr.
1956 -	A. Ward Cornwell
1955 -	William Beresford
1954 - 1	Norman C. Johnson
1953 - 1	Leonard J. Strong
1952 - 1	Malcolm E. McLaren
	William H. Johnson
1950 - 1	Ray H. Gerber
1949 - 0	Carl A. Bretzlaff
1948-0	Chester Mendenhall
	- Marshall E. Farnham
	- Harold W. Stodola
	John Gray
	Frank W. Ermer
	Joseph Ryan
	John Quaill
1936 -]	John Anderson
1935 —]	Fred A. Burkhardt
	W.J. Sansom
	John MacGregor
1926-32 -	- Colonel John Morley

1952 - Oyvind J. Noer

1941 — Frank W. Ermer

1940 - Colonel John Morley 1935 — John MacGregor

William H. Johnson