PULLOUT SHOW SECTION

GCSAA honoring industry's best at banquet

Old Tom Morris, Distinguished Service and Leo Feser awards being presented at international conference

LAS VEGAS, Nev. - When an expected 16,000 or more people from all segments of the golf industry gather here Feb. 5-12, the host Golf Course Superintendents Association of America will bestow its annual honors for accomplishment to a wide range of experts who have helped the game of golf and the science of course maintenance.

At its closing Tuesday (Feb. 12) evening banquet and show the 9,000-member organization will cite William C. Campbell of Huntington, W.Va., as winner of the Old Tom Morris Award, following the like of superintendent Sherwood Moore, professional golfer Chi Chi Rodriguez, and famed golf course architect Robert Trent Jones Sr.

Campbell is past president of the United States Golf Association and served as captain of the Royal and Ancient Golf Club of St. Andrews, Scotland. He is the only American to have held both the presidency of the USGA and the captaincy of the R&A.

Campbell has long championed the superintendents' position in golf for maintaining "the stage on which the game is played. "No one has given more to the game than

Campbell newest Morris honoree



William C. Cambbell

Past winners of the GCSAA's Old Tom Morris Award are:

1991 — William C. Campbell
1990 — Sherwood Moore
1989 — Chi Chi Rodriguez
1988 — Gene Sarazen
1987 — Robert Trent Jones Sr.
1986 — Patty Berg
1985 — Gerald Ford
1984 — Bob Hope
1983 — Arnold Palmer

Schinderle's article best in 1990 d winners are:

Former Leo Feser Award winners a
1990 — Gary Schinderle
1989 — Ted Horton and
Mary Medonis
1988 — Sherwood Moore
1987 — David E. Hassel
1986 — David C. Harmon
1985 — Theodore W. Woerhle
1984 — Jerry W. Redden
1983 — Gordon C. Witteveen
1982 — Louis E. Miller
1981 — Paul N. Voykin
1980 — Donald J. Pakkala
1979 — Oliver Miles
1978 — Dan Jones
1977 — James M. Hildebrand
1956 — Tom Dawson Jr.

guished Service Award to three men in the industry. University of Rhode Island plant pathologist Dr. Noel Jackson, The Lawn Institute Executive Director Dr. Eliot C. Roberts of Pleasant Hill, Tenn., and long-time golf course architect W. Bruce Matthews of Grand Haven, Mich., will receive the honor.

Mr. Campbell," said outgoing GCSAA Presi-

dent Gerald Faubel. Faubel said that as USGA

Jackson has taught and done research in turfgrass at URI since 1965. Roberts founded The Lawn Institute in 1962, keeping track of and publishing findings of research in the field.

Matthews founded the firm which now includes three generations of members of the American Society of Golf Course Architects. Son Jerry Matthews and grandson W. Bruce Matthews III also belong to the elite ASGCA.

Meanwhile, the annual Leo Feser Award, presented for the best article written by a GCSA-member superintendent and published in Golf Course Management magazine, will be presented Friday, Feb. 8.

Stephen Cadenelli, superintendent at The Metedeconk National Golf Club in Jackson, N.J., is succeeding Faubel as GCSAA presi-

dent.

Elections for other offices will take place at the conference.

Vice presidential candidates are Randy Nichols of Cherokee Town and Country Club in Dunwoody, Ga., and current Secretary/ Treasurer William R. Roberts of Lochmoor Club in Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich.

Three new board members will be elected. Candidates are Gary T. Grigg of Shadow Glen Golf Course in Olathe, Kansas, Charles Passios of Hyannisport Club in Hyannisport, Mass., Gary D. Sayre of Overlake Golf and Country Club in Medina. Wash., and Bruce R. Williams of Bob O'Link Golf Course in Highland Park, Ill.

Jackson, Matthews, Roberts chosen for lifetime contributions

Past winners of the GCSAA's Distinguished Service Award are:

1991 - Dr. Noel Jackson W. Bruce Matthews Dr. Eliot Roberts 1990 — William Bengeyfield Dr. Thomas Watschke 1989 - James W. Brandt Dr. C. Richard Skoglev 1988 - Dr. Jack Butler William B. Davis Dr. Kenyon Payne Eberhard Steiniger, CGCS 1987 - Dr. James R. Love David S. Gourlay Sr. 1986 — Andrew Bertoni John B. Steel Howard Kaerwer **Chester Mendenhall** 1985 — James L. Blackledge William C. Campbell Clifford A. Wagoner 1984 — Warren A. Bidwell Keith Nisbet 1983 — James B. Moncrief Dr. Joseph Troll Dr. James R. Watson 1982 — Milton J. Bauman Sherwood A. Moore Alexander M. Radko Ben O. Warren Jr.



W. Bruce Matthews

1981 — Geoffrey S. Cornish Dr. Ralph Engel Hans C. Schmiesser 1980 — Manuel L. Francis Dr. John Madison 1979 - Dr. C. Reed Funk 1978 - Dr. Roy L. Goss Dr. John C. Harper II Arthur A. Snyder 1977 - Harold W. Stodola Paul E. Weiss Sr. Robert M. Williams

1976 -	- Dr. Joseph M. Duich
	Leo J. Feser
	Thomas C. Mascaro
1975 -	- Dr. William H. Daniel
	Raymond H. Gerber
	Dr. Fred Grau
1973 -	- Walter R. Boysen
	- Theodore W. Woehrle
1961 -	- Dr. Jesse H. DeFrance
	Eugene Marzalf
	James Smith
1960 -	- Joseph C. Dey Jr.
	Helen F. Lengfield
	Oyvind J. Noer
1959 -	- Dr. John Monteith
	Oyvind J. Noer
	Richard S. Tufts
1958 -	- Dr. Glenn Burton
	Professor L.F. Dickinson
	Malcolm R. McLaren
	Professor H. Burton Musser
	Joseph Valentine
1957 -	- Thomas Dawson Jr.
	Herbert Graffis
1954 -	- Dr. Fred V. Grau
	- Oyvind J. Noer
1941 -	– Frank W. Ermer
	William H. Johnson
	- Colonel John Morley
	– John MacGregor
1932 -	- Colonel John Morley
	0 11D 1

Steve Cadenelli takes over GCSAA reins from Gerald Faubel

Past presidents of GCSAA are:
1991 — Stephen Cadenelli
1990 — Gerald Faubel
1989 — Dennis Lyon
1988 — John A. Segui
1987 — Donald Hearn
1986 — Riley L. Stottern
1985 — Eugene D. Baston
1984 — James W. Timmerman
1983 — Robert W. Osterman
1982 — James A. Wyllie
1981 — Michael R. Bavier
1980 — Melvin B. Lucas Jr.
1979 — Charles H. Tadge
1978 — George W. Cleaver
1977 — Theodore W. Woehrle
1976 — Richard W. Malpass
1975 — Palmer Maples Jr.
1974 — Charles G. Baskin
1973 — Clifford A. Wagoner
1972 — Robert V. Mitchell
1971 — Richard C. Blake
1970 — Norman W. Kramer
1969 — John J. Spodnik
1968 — James W. Brandt



Stephen Cadenelli

.967 —	Walter R. Boysen
.966 —	Edward Roberts Jr.
.965 —	L.R. Shields
.964 —	David S. Moote
.963 —	Roy W. Nelson
962 -	Sherwood A Moore

1961 — L.E. Lambert
1960 — James E. Thomas
1959 — Elmer G. Border
1958 — Robert M. Williams
1957 — Paul E. Weiss Sr.
1956 — A. Ward Cornwell
1955 — William Beresford
1954 — Norman C. Johnson
1953 — Leonard J. Strong
1952 — Malcolm E. McLaren
1951 — William H. Johnson
1950 — Ray H. Gerber
1949 — Carl A. Bretzlaff
1948 — Chester Mendenhall
1946-47 — Marshall E. Farnham
1941-45 — Harold W. Stodola
1940 — John Gray
1939 — Frank W. Ermer
1938 — Joseph Ryan
1937 — John Quaill
1936 — John Anderson
1935 — Fred A. Burkhardt
1934 — W.J. Sansom
1933 — John MacGregor
1926-32 — Colonel John Morley