ASPA awards research grants

Nearly \$20,000 in grants has been awarded six university researchers by the American Sod Producers Association.

The group's Research Committee reviewed 23 projects, from 21 researchers at 16 institutions, requesting a total of \$216,800 before reaching its decision.

Grants will go to:

- Dr. J.M. Goately Jr. of Mississippi State University for research on "the influence of fall fertilization on the physiology, turf quality and winter hardiness of bermudagrass."
- Dr. A. Koski of Colorado State University to investigate the "influence of a soil-incorporated water-absorbent gel on irrigation requirements of transplanted sod."
 - Dr. Harry D. Niemczyk of Ohio State

University for research into "the fate and vertical mobility of insecticides and herbicides applied to turfgrass."

- Dr. R.E. Schmidt of VIP & State University for a study on "bioassay development to measure activity of biostimulants used on turf."
- Dr. Tom Watschke of Penn State University to study "polyacrylamides for turf."
- Dr. H.T. Wilkinson of University of Illinois to pursue "an integrated biological control program to reduce fungicides used for the control of lawn diseases."

Funding for ASPA research grants comes from the organization's general revenues, as well as a \$5,000 contribution from the Ciba-Geigy Turf and Ornamental Group.

Fertilizer Institute elects Rouse president

Allen Rouse, president and chief operating officer of Terra International, Inc. in Sioux City, Iowa, has been elected to a one-year term as chairman of The Fertilizer Institute.

The election, which also included selection of TFI's 1990 vice chairman and executive committee, was conducted during the association's annual meeting, an event which drew more than 1,000 industry representatives to Nashville, Tenn.

"Al Rouse knows the fertilizer industry and has the leadership to provide strong direction for TFI during 1990," said TFI President Gary D. Myers. "We are honored to have Al as our new chairman."

TFI members elected John Anderson, president of Cominco Fertilizer, to serve as vice chairman. Myers was re-elected president and chief staff officer for the institute.

Others elected to the executive committee are Philip Ashcraft, vice president of crop services at Agway, Inc., in Syracuse, N.Y.; Fritz W. Corrigan, president of the fertilizer division at Cargill, Inc., in Minneapolis, Minn.; Michael Hochgesang, president of Jasper Plant Foods Warehouse, Inc., in Jasper, Ind.; Chuck Merrill, senior vice president of the nitrogen group at Unocal, Inc., in Los Angeles, Calif.; Charles Seaton, president, of Kaiser Estech in Savannah, Ga.; and Dean Travis, president of J.R. Simplot Minerals and Chemicals Division in Pocatello, Idaho.

Al Giese, vice president of agronomy at Cenex/Land O'Lakes of St. Paul, Minn., who is immediate past board chairman, serves as exofficio member.

Other Washington staff officers re-elected are Ron Phillips, vice president of public affairs; Ford B. West, vice president of government relations; and P. Whitney Yelverton, vice president of administration and secretary treasurer.

CMAA certifies 40 club managers

Forty club managers have been accredited Certified Club Managers by the Club Managers Association of America.

Designees include Peter J. Albe of Country Club at Heathrow; Warren L. Arseneaux of Victoria Country Club; Oscar J. Berven of Country Club of Decatur; Gary R. Bousum of Mauh-Nah-Tee-See Country Club; Terry R. Boys of Forest Lake Country Club; Richard G. Bugalski of Bulls Eye Country Club; David W. Clanahan of Tri-City Country Club; Terry G. Conley of Valdosta Country Club.

Also, Scott B. Diamond of Doylestown Country Club; Michel Dubes of Menlo Country Club; Charles W. Duty of Oak Tree Country Club; Glenn R. Ebersole of Country Club of Harrisburg; John G. "Ted" Gillary of Orchard Lake Country Club; Gregory K. Gordon of Point O'Woods Country Club; Frank Gregorich of Des Moines Golf & Country Club; Donald Hames of Isles Yacht Club.

Mary Hastings of Brooklea Country Club; Steve K. Hathaway of Los Angeles Athletic Club; Paul S. Hattimer of Soangetaha Country Club; Scott C. Hobden of Nashua Country Club; Glenn E. Johnson of Corpus Christi Town Club; Issam A. "Sam" Kadi of Country Club of Farmington; Melvin Kahn of Berry Hills Country Club; Caroline M. Kristoff of Mayfield Country Club; Brian R. Kroh of The Los Angeles Country Club; Thomas S. Lee of Indian Hill Club; Thomas McCarville of Elmcrest Country Club.

Patrick McKenna of Mariner Sands Country Club; David A. Nebel of Metairie Country Club; Klaus Plischka of Minnehaha Country Club; Fierre Rubben of Shreveport Club; Hans J. Schaub of Minneapolis Club; Jonathan D. Shear of Golfcrest Country Club; Alan E. Slatin of Glen Oak Country Club; James E. Story of Chattahoochee Country Club; John M. Sullivan of Mission Hills Country Club; David H. Voorhees of Philadelphia Country Club; Jeffrey L. Watkins of Capitol Hill Club; Robert C. Wood of Chilton Club.

The candidates qualified for the certification by fulfilling specific requirements over a period of years in management, experience, education and association activity.

The exam contains 13 subject areas, such as private club administration, managerial accounting, food and beverage operations and principles of management.

ACONVERTIBLE.



THE ALL IN ONE 3, 4, OR 5 GANG LIGHTWEIGHT FAIRWAY MOWING SYSTEM.

Versatility plus. A fairway mower that allows you to convert from 3 to 4 or 5 cutting units from the driver's seat. Mow those narrow areas between green and trap or extend this lightweight mower to its full cutting width of 106 inches, the widest in its class. ■ Our quick change cutting units float independently for a manicured finish on the widest fairway or the tightest tee. ■ Then, with foot pedal control, fold this unit to a narrow transport width of only 71 inches, to make tight maneuvers over bridges and into small sheds a breeze. ■ For more information or a free demonstration, write or call us at 414-699-2000 today. WHERE GREAT IDEAS START.