Florida wins GCSAA golf title

BY JOE ONDO, CGCS

A full moon and 24-degree temperatures welcomed 720 players on Monday, Feb. 5, 1996 to sunny Orlando for the 67th Annual GCSAA Golf Championship. A twohour delay at most courses allowed temperatures to reach 34 degrees before the first foursome was allowed to tee off.

After the first round was over, the Florida #1 team led by Buck Buckner's 73, Jim Osburne's 74 and Mark Hopkins' 81 at Disney's Eagle Pines course combined with Kevin Downing's 75 at Hunter's Creek to lead the field by seven shots.

On day two, windy, cloudy conditions and a temperature of 38 degrees for most of the morning wreaked havoc for most of the players and kept scores higher than normal. By the end of the grueling day, The Florida #1 team held on for a two-shot victory and ended a 13-year victory drought and brought the Scottish Team trophy back home for 1996. Congratulations to Buck, Mark, Jim and Kevin for a job well done. Congratulations also to Jim Dusch from Atlanta National Golf Club for winning the Championship Flight and the USGA Trophy with a 149 total.

Besides the Scottish Team trophy, Florida superintendents also did very well individually: Buck Buckner was third overall and the other team members also won prizes in their flights. Hal Richburg, Kevin Rotti and Tom Trammell also took home prizes in their flights. Kevin Downing and Fred Klauk won the Best Ball tournament on Sunday before the Championship.

Host Superintendents for the six courses used in the tournament were Larry Kamphaus, Manager of Golf Course Maintenance, Walt Disney World; Pat Hennessey, Disney's Eagle Pines course; Alan Steichen, Falcon's Fire; Joel Jackson, CGCS, Disney's Magnolia course; Craig Shelton, Hunter's Creek; Doug Rouse, Disney's Lake Buena Vista course and Tom Trammel, CGCS, Metro West. All received plaques from the GCSAA for jobs well done.

After the tournament, temperatures returned to normal and players put away their long underwear, ski caps, mittens, sweaters and other layers of clothing to head for the conference and show. We will have to wait and see what Mother Nature has in store for us next year in Las Vegas. GCSAA has developed a new piece of "clip art" that superintendents can use to encourage golfers to repair ball marks, replace divots and rake bunkers. "It's every player's responsibility" is a black-and-white, camera ready ad slick

that any GCSAA member can reproduce in club/ course newsletters, local golf publications or even on scorecards. to obtain a copy, contact the GCSAA Public Affairs Department at 913/832-4490.





The LCCC Fund Raiser Tournament Committee weathers another successful event.

LCCC benefit event raises \$9,000

The Fourth Annual Endowment Fund Raising Golf Tournament was held Jan. 12, 1996, at the Riverwood Country Club. Though the day started off with a torrential rainfall, the tournament did manage to begin after about a 45-minute delay. Even the rain couldn't dampen the spirits of the attendees as only a few didn't show. With clearing skies and increasing wind, the beautiful Riverwood Golf Club fulfilled everybody's expectations and beyond.

Though the pro shop did notice a drastic increase in golf ball sales that day, some people did manage to turn in some impressive scores. Out of these scores some even passed the lie detector test administered by the tournament committee. All joking aside, this event raised in excess of \$9,000, thanks to the support of the sponsors and players. Though the winners received some great raffle prizes, valued at \$10,000, the real winners were Lake City Community College Golf Operations and the entire turf industry.

A Flight tournament winners were Tom Hilferty and Andy Burmester, and for the B Flight, Greg Pheneger and Ralph Daire. The big raffle winners were Rick Tatum, with a cruise to Cozumel, Mexico, and Jack Stahl, who won \$500 in cash.

The tournament committee consisted of Co-Chairmen David Fry and Glenn Zakany, Host Superintendent and Diamond Sponsor Coordinator Scott Hamm, Gold Sponsor and Raffle Prizes Coordinator John Johnson, Dick Bessire, Jason Brod, Mike Griffith, Odell Spainhour and Brad Walters.

The tournament committee would like to thank all who make this event possible and hope to continue the tradition of this event. Weather permitting, next year's tournament will also be held the second week in January.