The Most Misunderstood and Violated Rules of Golf: A Plaver's Guide (continued from page 12)

before it ended up in the hazard (the
“line of flight”). Unfortunately, play-
ing a ball that is dropped along the
“line of flight” would, in most cases,
result in a penalty for playing from a
wrong place. If the offense for playing
from a wrong place is serious enough,
it could result in the disqualification
of the player.

A serious breach of the Rules
often occurs when a player loses the
ball or hits the ball out of
bounds. Rather than taking the stroke
and distance penalty as prescribed in
Rule 27: Ball Lost or Out of
Bounds, a golfer drops a ball where
the original ball might be lost or out
of bounds. Whether this mistake is
based on ignorance or is done to save
time, it will result in a penalty of
disqualification unless the breach is
corrected. The penalty of stroke and
distance has been regarded as one of
the more severe penalties in
golf. However, currently no other
equitable alternative for a ball that is
lost or out of bounds exists.

As for Rule 28: Ball
Unplayable, how many times has a
plaver measured two club lengths
from the edge, or side, of a bush
rather than where the unplayable ball
lies in the bush? Unfortunately, this is
another wrong-place issue that could
require a penalty.

For most golfers, mastering the
Rules of Golf can be just as complex
as succeeding at playing the game
itself. Therefore, playing by the Rules
can offer a great challenge. Some-
times, this challenge of the game leads
players to choose to ignore the Rules
altogether or simply fail to follow the
correct Rules procedure. All golfers
are encouraged to learn, apply and
honor the Rules as they define this

game we all love. “

Dan Hardy is the divector of rules
and competitions for the CDGA.
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What are the consequences
«if a ball moves after
address?

A Rule 18-2 b, Ball Moving

« After Address, states that if a
player’s ball in play moves after he
has addressed it (other than as a
result of a stroke), the player shall
be deemed to have moved the ball
and shall incur a penalty stroke.
The player shall replace the ball
unless the movement of the ball
occurs after he has begun his swing
and he does not discontinue his
swing.

If competing in stroke
« play (e.g., league activity),
what is the Rule if I am chip-
ping to the green and a fellow
competitor’s ball is in my line
and he refuses to mark it?

According to Rule 22, Ball
« Interfering with or Assisting
Play, any player may:

e lift his ball if he considers that
the ball might assist any other
player (or)

¢ have any other ball lifted if he
considers that the ball might
interfere with his play or assist
the play of any other player, but
this may not be done while
another ball is in motion.

In stroke play, a player
required to lift his ball may play
first rather than lift. A ball lifted
under this Rule shall be re-placed.

Penalty for breach of Rule: in
match play, loss of hole; in stroke
play, two strokes. Note that this
Rule also stipulates that except on
the putting green, the ball may not
be cleaned while lifted.

If vandalism has left
«scratches on a green, am I
allowed to repair the damage
prior to putting or chipping to
the hole?

A Rule 16-1 ¢, The Putting

« Green, Repair of Hole Plugs,
Ball Marks and Other Damage,
permits the player to repair an old
hole plug or damage to the putting
green caused by the impact of a
ball, whether or not the player’s
ball lies on the putting green. If
the ball is moved in the process of
such repair, it shall be re-placed,
without penalty. Any other damage
to the putting green shall not be
repaired if it might assist the player
in his subsequent play of the hole.

How much time is allowed
Q. if a ball is overhanging the
hole to see if it will fall into the
hole? (We've all seen Caddyshack,

right?)

Rule 16-2, Ball Overhanging
« Hole, states that when any

part of the ball overhangs the lip of
the hole, the player is allowed
enough time to reach the hole
without unreasonable delay and an
additional 10 seconds to determine
whether the ball is at rest. If by
then the ball has not fallen into the
hole, it is deemed to be at rest. If
the ball subsequently falls into the
hole, the player is deemed to have
holed out with his last stroke, and
he shall add a penalty stroke to his
score for the hole; otherwise, there
is no penalty under this Rule. (For
an explanation of undue delay, see
Rule 6-7.)



