## GCSAA Conference — Houston Voting Delegate Report

On Monday 8 February, 1988 the GCSAA Annual Meeting and Elections took place at the George Brown Convention Center in Houston, Texas. With the complete GCSAA Board of Directors plus the Executive Director present, various reports were accepted and all new and old business items were dealt with. Upon completion of the report segment, the GCSAA elections were conducted and the new officers were introduced to those in attendance.

FOR PRESIDENT: John Segui, CGCS unanimous vote with 3,967 votes cast FOR VICE PRESIDENT: Dennis Lyon, CGCS (CO), 3201 votes Jerry Faubel, CGCS (MI), 766 votes FOR DIRECTOR: (3 to be elected) with 11,756 votes cast, additionally one to be appointed fo fill remaining term (1 yr.) of Dennis Lyon. William Roberts, CGCS (WI), 3663 votes Jerry Faubel, CGCS (MI), 3045 votes Joseph Baidy, CGCS (OH), 1691 votes Ken Sakai, CGCS (CA), 1450 votes Michael Wallace, CGCS (CT), 905 votes Lee Deiter, CGCS (VA), 548 votes Gary Bennett, CGCS (SC), 454 votes Roberts, Faubel, and Baidy were elected to 2 year terms on the GCSAA Board of Directors. Ken Sakai, by unanimous vote of the GCSAA Board, was appointed to fill the vacancy created by the election of Dennis Lyon to Vice President. Sakai will serve for a 1 year term.

The Midwest Association of Golf Course Superintendents and the Chicagoland Association of Golf Course Superintendents combined forces, as is always the case, to cast a total of 204 votes for each of the vacancies on the GCSAA Board of Directors. Delegates Len Berg and Alan Fierst interviewed each of the candidates and reported their evaluations to the MAGCS cancus prior to the GCSAA elections. Upon reporting their findings to the caucus, a vote was taken by those present to accept the recommendations of the delegates and cast the Midwest's votes accordingly.

Alan T. Fierst, Voting Delegate



John A. Segui, CGCS President



Dennis D. Lyon, CGCS Vice President

