THE BULL SHEET, official publication of the MIDWEST ASSOCIATION OF GOLF COURSE SUPERINTENDENTS.

1987 Board of Directors

President	Jim Evans (Debby) Turnberry C.C.	Home: 815-455-3994 Office: 815-459-8570
Vice-Pres.	Mike Nass (Jean) Bryn Mawr C.C.	Home: 279-7063 Office: 677-4112
2nd Vice-Pres.	Alan Fierst Oak Park C.C.	Home: 456-7815 Office: 453-7525
Sect'yTreas.	David Meyer (Penny) Indian Lakes C.C.	Home: 820-1040 Office: 529-0200
Exec. Secretary	Penny Meyer (David)	Office: 820-1040
	MAGCS Mailing Address P. O. Box 248, Eola, TL 60	
Board	Brian C. Chalifoux (Caro Olympia Fields C.C.	Office: 748-0495
	David E. Louttit Oak Hills C.C.	Home: 349-7749 Office: 448-0771
	Ray Schmitz (Jan) Flossmoor C.C.	Home: 815-469-2773 Office: 798-2498
	Bruce Williams (Roxane) Bob O'Link G.C.	Home: 680-1074 Office: 432-0088
	Dennis Wilson (Pat) Sunset Ridge C.C.	Home: 441-8387 Office: 446-5222
Pres. Emeritus	Dave Behrman (Chris) Deer Creek G.C.	Home: 748-5320 Office: 672-5887

ECKHOFF AWARD

For Excellence In Golf Journalism



We are not copyrighted and would like to share our articles with any who would like to use them, but please give the author and "The Bull Sheet" credit.

Editor — Fred D. Opperman, CGCS 1022 Shady Lane Glen Ellyn, IL 60137 Phone (312) 469-3444

Bull Sheet printed by Ever-Redi Printing, 5100 East Ave., Countryside, IL 60525.

The **Bull Sheet** is published once a month. All articles are required by the 10th of the month to make the next issue. Advertising is sold by the column inch, by the quarter page, half page, and by the full page. All artwork to be finished and in black and white. Circulation is over 500 issues per month.



President's Message

I want to thank the membership of M.A.G.C.S., Inc. for electing me your new president for 1987. I would also like to thank those who have supported me the past three years as a member of the board of directors.

As a member of M.A.G.C.S. since 1981, I have witnessed a substantial increase in the dedication, professionalism, and strong leadership that has been exhibited by the executive committee and supporting board members. As a proud superintendent, and newly elected president of this association, I vow to uphold and enhance the commitment toward excellence. With the guaranteed support of all board members, and a membership that elects to become involved, this association will continue to grow.

In order to achieve our goals for '87, I ask for your support. All committees within the organization need your input, especially the golf committee. A tremendous amount of time and effort are spent to provide the association with well organized and enjoyable golf outings. The arrangements committee is always looking for new courses or clubs to hold meetings and outings, so don't hesitate to volunteer. The education committee seeks volunteers to speak at monthly meetings and the annual turf clinic. This allows the membership a good opportunity to share new ideas, review old methods in turfgrass management, or simply voice your opinion. Speaking of education, I will remind everyone to attend our Annual Turf Clinic to be held on Dec. 10 at the O'Hare Expo Center in conjunction with the NCTE.

I begin my year as president with a very good foundation, financially speaking. The 1987 fiscal year began Oct. 1 with a balance of \$14, 468.77. I would expect to end the year on Sept. 30, 1987 with a minimum of \$8,000.00 balance in our account. As the association continues to grow, so does our financial responsibilities. In 1986, we had a total income of almost \$90,000.00 and I would project that we will approach \$100,000.00 for the 1987 budget. Excluding the ordinary operating expenses, I would insist that a fair amount of monies will be donated to support turfgrass research in the State of Illinois.

I am looking forward to a great year in 1987. The current board of directors will no doubt be a pleasure to work with, for they have pledged their full support. I wish to welcome newly elected board members Dennis Wilson, Brian Chalifoux and Dave Loutitt. A special thanks to past presidents Dave Behrman, Roger Stewart, and Len Berg for their encouragement and support.

James E. Evans