THE BULL SHEET, official publication of THE MIDWEST ASSOCIATION OF GOLF COURSE SUPERINTENDENTS.

TED WOEHRLE, Editor 8700 So. Western Ave. Chicago 20, Illinois

OFFICERS

President - E. F. "Al" Johnson 1st Vice-President - Adolph Bertucci 2nd Vice-President - Dudley Smith Secretary & Treasurer - Roy Nelson

DIRECTORS

Ed Braunsky Anthony Meyer Walter Fuchs Douglass Jabaay Kenneth Lapp Gerald Dearie

The President's Message

It was a sincere pleasure to read the last issue of the Golf Course Superintendents of America news letter and find the effort being taken to satisfy everyone in the transission period of moving to Des Plaines, Illinois. The headquarters staff are to be commended for their fine effort and especially those that have stayed on with the staff to help out, knowing that the move to the Chicago area was imminent.

To the members of the Midwest Association, I hope you will stop into the new national headquarters after they are settled, not to be critical, but to assist in any way we can to help the fine effort being made by our new Executive Secretary, Ben Chevlin.

Our next meeting at Glen Flora, I would like to have not only a man nominated for consideration to the national nominating committee, but also nominations for national advisory committee delegate and alternate; also, delegate and alternate to the national turf conference in Kansas City.

Members of the Midwest Association, come prepared with nominations to fill committees so they may have some time for discussion and correspondence before the national turf conference.

President "Al" Johnson

LAST MEETING

The June meeting of the Midwest Association of Golf Course Superintendents was held on June 7, 1965, at the Deer Park Golf Club, Oglesby, Illinois. Joe Canale was the host.

Deer Park was in its usual beautiful condition and some 60 members ventured down to the Club, which is located near Starved Rock, and enjoyed a wonderful day. The dinner was equally as good as the course. Many of the members stayed near the club for the night and spent a good deal of the evening playing cards and visiting.

Superintendents, Oscar Miles of Olympia Fields Country Club had the low gross for the day beating Superintendent, Bill Hargrave of the Kankakee Country Club by one stroke. Other winners of the tournament were:

Low Net, Russ Reed, Peoria System, John Ebel, Domonic Grotti, Bill Hargrave, Don Gerber, Don Theesfield and El Pruess. Ben Kronn, Ray Gerber, George Wyatt, Ed Fischer, Adolph Bertucci and Joe Canale were also winners.

JULY MEETING

We are in for a treat this month when we visit the Glen Flora Country Club in Waukegan, Illinois on Thursday, July 15, 1965. Superintendent, Peter Bild has the Club in magnificent condition. Glen Flora recently installed a new fairway irrigation system and they have had wonderful results. The course is well designed and it has a great deal of beauty. Rules concerning tee-off time are rigidly enforced so pay special attention to the rules as set down in a letter from our Secretary, Roy Nelson which you will be receiving. Dudley Smith, Chairman of the Educational Committee has a surprise for us.

For those of you that do not know Peter Bild (picture on the cover) he is one of our most loyal members in the Association. Pete, has served on the Board of Directors of the Association for several years and was voted as 1st Vice President in 1958. He has been active in the affairs of the National Association also. Many constructive ideas for the advancement of the profession have come from Pete.

The majority of the work done on the modernizing of the present day by-laws of the Association was done when Pete was Chairman of the By-Laws Committee.

NEW MEMBERSHIP DIRECTORY AND BY-LAWS PRINTED

The 1965 roster is now in the hands of all Midwest Members. A complete listing of the entire membership and the By-Laws has been printed as another service for the membership. You may be interested to konw that our membership is broken down into the following classifications:

AA		3
A		123
В		20
D	HAVE AND DESCRIPTION OF	39
E		30
EE	-	17
HON	·····	13
		245

*This makes us the biggest Local in the Country. We have 114 voting members in the National and an additional 30 National members in the E Classification for a total of 144 National members.