THE BULL SHEET, official publication of THE MIDWEST ASSOCIATION OF GOLF COURSE SUPERINTENDENTS.

TED WOEHRLE, Editor 8700 So. Western Ave. Chicago 20, Illinois

OFFICERS

President - E. F. "Al" Johnson 1st Vice-President - Adolph Bertucci 2nd Vice-President - Dudley Smith Secretary & Treasurer - Roy Nelson

DIRECTORS

Ed Braunsky Anthony Meyer Walter Fuchs Douglass Jabaay Kenneth Lapp Gerald Dearie them.

The President's Message

At our March 10th meeting, it was brought to my attention that we have a few delinquent members, some of which are long standing members of this association and have been a great asset to the Midwest Association.

If there is an oversight on the part of the member, we hope that they will respond. On the other hand, if there is a personal grievance, your officers and directors would appreciate hearing from you.

Our Membership Committee is in three sections of the Midwest area, and are striving to bolster our membership for both the Midwest Association and the National Association, and we ask your help.

Your Educational Committee will be striving to bring you timely educational topics which is the heart of our association, so if you have any suggestions that will present more interesting meetings, please bring them to our attention.

Al Johnson, President

MARCH MEETING

The March meeting of the Midwest Association of Golf Course Superintendents was held at the Chicago Swedish Club on March 10, 1965. Affable Nels Johnson was our host for the meeting. The food was delicious as was expected, and the Business meeting was fruitful.

The educational program that was scheduled was changed at the last minute in favor of presenting two films of Scandinavian Countries. SAS sent a man over in the person of Wally Martin to show these enlightening films, one of which showed the Northernmost golf course in the world—way up in Lapland

PAST PRESIDENTS HONORED

President Al Johnson presented Past President Pins to six members qualified for this honor. The following past presidents of the Midwest Association were given pins: Ray Gerber, Emil Cassier, Ed Stewart, Don Gerber, John Ebel and Ted Woehrle Ray Gerber has held the office of President several times. The remainder of the pins will be given to Past Presidents at future meetings, and those not given out by the end of the year will be sent to

APRIL MEETING

The April meeting of the Midwest Association of Golf Course Superintendents will be held on Wednesday, April 7, 1965. The site of the meeting will be at the Sportsman Country Club. Mr. Bob Block and Lawrence Marczinski will be co-hosts of the meeting. Free Bowling will be available through the generosity of Mr. Dick Chamberlain, the owner Dinner will be followed by our monthly educational program which will feature Mr. R. Paul Kohler, Horticulturalist of the Brookside Laboratory. He will be discussing the value of good soil testing and how to put the results from these tests to use and receive the full benefits from them. An Editorial covering soil testing can be found in this issue.

PAST PRESIDENTS OF THE MAGCS

1926 John MacGregor	1946 Ray Didier
1927 John MacGregor	1947 Don Strand
1928 John MacGregor	1948 Don Strand
1929 Alex Binnie	1949 Mel Warnecke
1930 Matt Bezek	1950 Bill Stupple
1931 Matt Bezek	1951 Bill Stupple
1932 R. N. Johnson	1952 Ray Davis
1933 R. N. Johson	1953 Ray Davis
1934 A. L. Brandon	1954 George Roloff
1935 C. A. Tregillus	1955 George Roloff
1937 John MacGregor	1956 Bob Williams
1938 John MacGregor	1957 Amos Lapp
1939 Harold Clements	1958 Ed Stewart
1941 Graham Gardiner	1959 Ray Gerber
1940 Graham Gardiner	1960 Emil Cassier
1942 John Darrah	1961 Ted Woehrle
1943 Ray Gerber	1962 Donald Gerber
1944 Ray Gerber	1963 John Ebel
1945 Ray Didier	1964 Warren Bidwell