THE BULL SHEET, official publication of THE MIDWEST ASSOCIATION OF GOLF COURSE SUPERINTENDENTS.

TED WOEHRLE, Editor, 8700 So. Western Avenue Chicago 20, Illinois

OFFICERS

President - John Ebel 1st Vice-President - Warren Bidwell 2nd Vice-President - Al Johnson Secretary & Treasurer - Roy Nelson

DIRECTORS

Mary Gruening Dudley Smith Anthony Meyer Adolph Bertucci Don Gerber Bill Brady

PRESIDENT'S MESSAGE

G O N E H U N T I N G

John Ebel, President



GERALD DEARIE Superintendent, Medinah Country Club

LAST MONTH'S MEETING

The Midwest Association of Golf Course Superintendents held its annual golf tournament on October the 8th at the beautiful and challenging Medinah Country Club. We now know why it is called "the Monster" by the Professional Golfers.

It is one of the most demanding golf courses in America. Benny Kronn won the Low Gross award with a fancy 81. If you recall he also won at Beverly in June. I guess this proves that he is the better golfer when the course is tough. He shot a 78 at Beverly to win the Low Gross honors in June.

Host Gerald Dearie had the course in magnificent condition. The fairways, green and tees were outstanding. I have never seen a course so well groomed. It was a real pleasure and honor to play the great No. 3 course at Medinah.

The turnout was one of the largest in recent years. Chairman of the Golf Committee, Mary Gruening, had prizes for most of the golfers. Winners were: Seniors, Joe Canale with an 88, Emil Mashie and Sukowski. The Blind Bogey winners were: Art Benson, Jr., Andy Voykin, Bert Jannis, Marv Gruening, Ed Stewart, John Ebel, Tony Meyers and Oscar Borgmeier. Other winners included Emil Cassier, George Weidner, Art Clesen, Charlie Rack, Harold Michels, Alby Staudt, Bob Williams, Chuck Daugherty, Pete Voykin, Ray Gerber and Bill Lief. Bill Brady, George Davis, Frank Krueger, Ed Braunsky, Bill Saielli and Russ Reed were also winners. The remainder of the winners were Ted Woehrle, Wes Updegraff, Mike Coyne, Joe Dinelli, Roy Nelson, Clarence Mitchell Ken Lapp, Carl Hopphan, Charlie Schultz, Art Benson Sr., Bob Breen and Dick Richardson.

During the Business Meeting it was voted on to send Ed Stewart to the National Conference as our Delegate and Ted Woehrle as the Assistant Delegate.

Al Johnson and Dudley Smith will represent our Association on the Advisory Committee at the National.