G.S.A. 1949 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

The Nominating Committee has met and, following due consideration, presents the following nominations for the offices to be filled:

President:	Carl Bretzlaff
SING	6295 Park Ave.
	Indianapolis 5, Ind.
	Meridian Hills, C.C.

Vice-President:

Raymond H. Gerber	Malcolm McLaren
865 Hillside Ave.	P.O. Box 744
Glen Ellyn, Ill.	Cleveland 22, 0.
Glen Oak C.C.	Oakwood C.C.

Board of Directors:

Leonard Bloomquist	John C. Price
601 E.14th St. Apt.2	P.O.Box 269
Minneapolis, Minn.	Tulsa 1, Okla.
Superior G.C.	Southern Hills C.C.

Horace C. Purdy Ward Cornwell 2202 Nesbit 41 - 33rd St. Grosse Pointe 30, Mich. Long Branch Ont. Canada. Lochmoor Club

Robert L. Mitchell Box 93 Rexford, N.Y. The Edison Club

Joseph Valentine Argyle & St. Pauls Rds. Ardmore, Pa. Merion G.C.

Toronto G.C.

Following the precedent of recent nominating Committees, only one candidate is nominated for President.

The Nominating Committee consisted of:

Marshall E. Farnham, Chairman Joseph Ryan, Vice-Chairman William Baskin William Mellon Charles Wilfong

The President and Vice-President are elected for a term of one year. Three Directors are to be elected for a term of two years. Additional nominations for any of the offices can be made from the floor at the proper time during the meeting.

Very truly yours, THE GREENKEEPING SUPERINTENDENTS ASS'N

A.M. Brown, Acting Secretary

"If you wish to be happy for an hour, get drunk -If you wish to be happy for three days, get married -If you wish to be happy for eight days, kill your pig and eat it. But - If you wish to be happy forever become a greenkeeper."

MIDWEST ASSOCIATION ELECTION RESULTS

At the Annual Meeting of the Midwest Association of Gol? Course Superintendenis held at The Glen Oak Country Club January 3rd, the following members were elected to offices to be filled:

President		Melvin Warnecke
First Vice-President	-	William Stupple
Second Vice-Pres.		Norman Johnson
Treasurer	-	Robert Williams
Secretary	-	John Coghill
Director	-	Donald Strand
Director	-	Ray Davis
Director	-	Henry Lange

Members who have one (1) more year to 🚅 serve on the Executive Committee are:

Director - - - - - - Emil Cassier Director - - - - - - Fred Ingwerson

The following members were appointed by President Warnecke to function as chairmen of their respective committees during the ensuing year of 1949:

Donald Strand	-	Educational Comm.
Henry Lange	-	Membership Comm.
Ray Davis	-	Golf Committee
Robert Williams	-	Finance Committee
Ray Gerber	-	Research & Informa- tion
Norman Johnson	+	Editorial Committee

* * * * *

20th EDUCATIONAL TURF CONFERENCE PROGRAM Wednesday, February 9, 1949 MORNING SESSION Leo Feser, Chairman Woodhill C.C. Wayzata, Minn. 10:00 AM - WHAT'S AHEAD FOR THE BUSINESS OF GOLF? Herb Graffis

Golfdom, Chicago, Ill

10:30 AM - THE GOLF COURSE WE LIKE TO PLAY

> Joe Novak, Pres. P.G.A., Los Angeles, California

Los Angeles, Cal.

11:00 AM - THE PUBLIC COLF COURSE - ITS PLACE IN THE MASTER PLAN OF PUBLIC RECREATION FACILITIES AND SERVICES George Hjelte Dept. of Recreation,

11:15 AM - EMPLOYEES' RECREATION PROGRAM INDUSTRIAL GOLF Harold Davis Los Angeles, Cal.

11:30 AM - PRACTICAL PSYCHOLOGY IN GOLF COURSE MANAGEMENT A. Langton

* * * * * * *