

Conditions Rival Those of Augusta At Annual Meeting

By Bob Costa

Under weather conditions rivalling those of the "96" Masters, Peacock Gap Golf and Country Club played host to the GCSANC annual meeting. President Rich Lavine, presided over the meeting which featured the election of new officers, awards presentations and the long awaited vote on the bylaw amendments. The days events were capped with a golf tournament attended by over 90 players.

Seventy voting members were in attendance at the business meeting which was called to order at 9:45 a.m. After the minutes of the last meeting were read by Ken Schwark, Rich asked for a moment of silence to remember former members Kasu Maseba, and Stanley Pitcher who passed away during the year.

The microphone was then passed into the capable hands of Brian Bagley who, with some help from those in the first row, proceeded with the election of officers. Joe Rodriquez, who was unable to attend the meeting due to family business, was elected as the new President. The hotly contested Vice President's position was won by Blake Swint. Dave Davies, who served in a number of board positions with the Sierra Nevada Chapter, was elected Secretary Treasurer. Five candidates, and floor nominee Ken Schwark vied for the two available board of directors positions. Gary Carls and Wayne Lindeloff emerged as the victors.

Dr. Ali Harivandi stepped to the podium next and gave a brief summary of the research projects that are scheduled for this year. Ali, with the assistance from the staff at Sunnyvale Municipal Golf Course, will be examining 40 bentgrass varieties and evaluating their performance with reclaimed water. Dr. Harivandi noted that he will be off to New Zealand this summer to present the results of the bentgrass trials he conducted recently. Numerous other projects are ongoing Dr. Harivandi stated, including a buffalograss overseeding study.

The awards presentation followed, with last years recipients making the presentations. Randy Gai was honored as the Superintendent of the Year, with Larry Norman winning an award for Turfgrass Excellence. Other winners included Mike Clark for Distinguished Service and Ben Showard who was named the Affiliate of the Year. Recognized for 25 years of membership was Stan Burgess and for fifty years Bert Graves.

Scholarship winners were up next. This years winners were introduced to the gathering by committee chairperson Roger Martinez. Roger acknowledged the following recipients: Dale Engman - Cal Poly SLO, Donna Burris - American River College, Jason Green - Cal Poly SLO, Kevin Reguera - Cal Poly SLO, Stephan Leas - U.C. Davis, Trent Barr - Cal Poly Pomona, Zach Martin - Butte College, Valerie Ficken - Cal Poly SLO, Thomas March - Cal Poly SLO.

The meeting adjourned after a few final comments from Rich, who thanked the members of the board, with whom he worked during the last year. Rich also thanked all the candidates who made the effort to run for an office and encouraged future participation from the membership.

Superintendent of the Year Award



Pictured above: Randy Gai, CGCS, receives Superintendent of the Year from Leon Snethen.

Fifty Years of Membership



Pictured above: Richard Lavine, President, presents fifty year pin to Bert Graves



