COLF COURSE SUPERINTENDENTS ASSOCIATION OF NORTHERN CALIFORNIA

A vacancy was created on the Board of Directors when Past President Robert Livesey was appointed to fill the Vice President position upon the resignation of Stan Burgess. Gale Love was appointed by Grady Simril, President and approved by the Board of Directors to fill this vacancy which expires at the annual meeting in April 1980.

Mike Clark, CGCS, Nominating committee chairman wants any suggestions or anyone interested inrunning for an office to contact him P.O.Box 487 Kenwood, CA 95452 office 707 539-0333 or home 707 833-4363

Members of GCSA of Northern California should begin thinking about nominations for the Awards of the Year

<u>Superintendent of the Year</u> - Awarded to individual who has contributed to the profession and Superintendents Association above and beyond the call of duty. He would be an active member. He would also be committed to outside activities for the betterment of the Association, such as education, teaching, civic groups, etc.

Previous awardees - Cliff Wagoner, CGCS, John Engen, Kaz Maseba, Bob Livesey, CGCS, Roy King

Excellence in Golf Turf Management - Awarded to individual who has done a superior job of grooming his course, keeping in mind all turf grass management practices and unusual involvement, such as eliminating some severe problem -- drainage - weeds - Poa Annua - etc.

Previous awardees - Gurmit Sandhu, Bill Nigh, Ed Watson, Bob Ford Mulkh Raj

<u>Class F</u> - Awarded to Class F member who is deserving because of attendance at meetings, dedication, contributing to the betterment of the Association. Involved in helping individual superintendent on the job, etc.

Previous awardees - Joe Sheffield, Chuck Mangold, Jack Baker John Steiner, Bill Goodridge

The Award Committee (Bill Nigh, Chairman) will soon be passing out nomination forms. Please fill them out giving particular emphasis to the section on COMMENTS. We want to know why you have nominated an individual for the category. Previous individual cannot be selected again in that category for a period of 10 years.

START THINKING ABOUT A NOMINEE