Scholarships & Field of the Year Awards

ave you ever smiled so much that your cheeks and jaw started to hurt? Isn't that a great feeling?! There were more than a dozen individuals at this years Conference & Exhibition in Mesa, Arizona, who experienced that feeling. Those individuals were the recipients of the STMA Field of the Year Awards and Scholarship recipients. This year, the award and scholarship winners were easily recognizable from the time they registered. Each Field of the Year recipient was adorned with a red, white and blue "award winner" ribbon attached to their nametag. Scholarship winners wore yellow "Scholarship" ribbons on their nametags. We are all so proud of them!

This year, in addition to

awarding four (4) S T M A Scholarships, we also awarded two (2) new Dr. Jim Watson Scholarships (thanks to funding by The Toro Company) These scholar-

ships awarded Sarah

to

K.

the recipient of the 2-Year Dr. Fred Grau Scholarship.

Pictured at right, are the Field of the Year winners, beginning in the front row from left to right are: Debra Kay Robinson, Director of Parks & Rec., City of Brentwood (TN) (Municipal/Parks & Rec. Football Field of the Year); Rick Izzo, Director of Field Maintenance, Akron (OH) Aeros (STMA/Beam Clay[®]/sportsTURF Professional Diamond of the Year); Robert Shumate, Sports Turf Manager, Georgetown University (DC) (College Soccer Field of the Year); Mark Cuthbertson, Head Softball Coach, Genoa (OH) High School (High School Softball Field of the Year); 2nd row from left to right: Richard Buelter, Sports Stadium Manager,



Were Scholarship recipients: (front row l to r), Sarah K. Martin, Stacy Bonos, STMA President, Steve Guise; (back row l to r), John Sorochan, Chad Follis, Jeff Limburg & Marshall Jennings.

Martin, Colorado State University, in the 4-year undergraduate cateand John Sorochan, gory; Michigan State University, in the graduate student category. Stacy Bonos, Rutgers University, was awarded the STMA graduate student scholarship. Chad Follis, University of Missouri & Marshall Jennings, Mississippi State University, were each awarded STMA 4-Year Undergrad scholarships and Jeff Limburg, Michigan State University, was

Lakewood (CO) Memorial Field/Jeffco Schools (High School Soccer Field of the Year); George Ortiz, Grounds Supervisor, UC Davis (CA) (College Softball Field of the Year); Anthony Chapman, Town of Lantana (FL) (Municipal Diamond of the Year); Boyd Montgomery, Facilities & Maintenance Director, Sylvania (OH)Area Recreation (Municipal/Parks & Rec. Softball Field of the Year); Joe McLear,

also with Genoa High School: back row from left to right: Tom Moody. Groundskeeper Auraria III. (CO) Higher Education (High School Diamond of the



Year); Dan Reidy, Sports Complex Director, for the Town of Lantana; John Davis, Facility Engineer, Edwin Lamour, Assistant Groundskeeper & Casey Gifford, Head Groundskeeper, Miami (FL) Dolphins Training Facility (Professional Football Field of the Year). Not pictured: Richard Dahl, Park Services Manager & Jim Mueller, Crew Leader, City of Westminster (CO) (Municipal/Parks & Rec. Soccer Field of the Year).

Take the time this year to document your program and submit your field for a Field of the Year Award. Or, get together with your student advisor and apply for one of our Scholarships. We'd love to "get you in the picture" next year!



4