Golf News

K. Braun

September Meeting — The Mid-Atlantic Superintendents beat the Philadelphia boys again this year to retain the trophy. Better luck next year.

October Meeting — The following are the winners of the Annual Mid-Atlantic Tournament held at Woodmont C.C.:

Class A&B

1st Low Gross

H. Allen

2nd Low Gross

R. Hall

3rd Low Gross

P. O'Leary

4th Low Gross

B. Emerson

1st Low Net

W. Montross

2nd Low Net

S. Kessel

3rd Low Net

D. Fairbanks

4th Low Net

B. Stagg

5th Low Net

J. Drew

Class C&D

1st Low Gross Jack Hewitt

Class E&F

1st Low Gross
Carl Schoening

Guest

1st Low Gross

Frank Sanzaro

1st Low Net

B. Smith

Long Drive

P. Pensinger

Closest to Hole

S. Kessel

What Is That Disease

S. Kessel

This is a question that is becoming more prevalent in our work. The price of chemicals, the residual factor and the inability of certain chemicals to control certain diseases has made diagnosis very critical.

It has become very apparent to me that it is hard to tell the difference between — dollar spot, pythium and brown patch in the field. Under ideal conditions they mask each other very well. I believe we have been blaming a lot of brown patch damage on pythium and thus believing we weren't getting good pythium control. I still feel pythium is the #1 killer in this area, but proper diagnosis is important because of the chemicals available to combat these diseases and their limitations.

Due to the ability of these diseases to spread rapidly under ideal conditions, we need to improve our diagnosis capabilities. We do not have time to send a sample out and then wait a week for an answer, if you get an answer. I feel once we learn to read what we see under a microscope we will be much closer to doing a better job of separating our fungus problems.

1979 Election

Nominating Committee

In accordance with the M.A.A. of G.C.S. by-law, Article VI, Section A, the Board of Directors of the M.A.A. of G.C.S., at its' September 27, 1979 meeting, appointed a nominating committee consisting of:

Angelo Cammarota Lee C. Dieter David S. Fairbank George B. Thompson William J. Emerson — Chairman

The nominating committee met on October 4, 1979 and nominates the following slate of candidates for election:

Office	Term	Candidate(s)
President	One year	Ronald E. Hall
Vice-President	One year	Michael B.
		McKenzie
Secretary	One year	J. Ben Stagg
Treasurer	One year	R. Wayne Evans
		Robert Orazi
Director	Three years	(Two to be elected)
		Merrill J. Frank
		David Kroll
		Buck Whetsell
		B. Edwin Wilson

Voting members are reminded that Article VI, Section B, makes provisions for nominations from the floor.